HAIRCUT!

Ok, so you probably can’t really tell, but I whacked 8 inches off of my hair!
20130318-094244.jpg

It feels really weird. I still haven’t washed it yet, but I know that when I do that my natural curliness will make my hair feel unbelievably short. I’m scared… but it feels super healthy and I think it was a good idea to do this for summer.

Too bad I was too lazy to ever put makeup on.

OH! I have to talk about 13.2! So… apparently last year there were a lot of injuries reported from people doing high rep box jumps in the Open workout 12.3. So this year, they decided to allow step-ups instead of box jumps for 13.2. Box jumps completely gassed me out when I attempted the WOD on Wednesday night, so I decided to try my old-school aerobic step-up skills for my second attempt. It freaking WORKED! I did three round better! 3 rounds?! That is 90 reps. My score went from 222 to 312. And I wasn’t nearly as crapped out feeling at the end. My goal for the open was to contribute at least one score high enough to be in the top 6. I know at least 4 other girls in my gym who outdid me on that one, but hopefully my score will still be top 6 material. Or do you have to be in the top 3 women? Not sure…. confusing. Whatever. I still feel like I contributed a good score.

Here is what I made for dinner on Friday night: PaleOMG Avocado Chorizo sweet potato skins.20130318-094257.jpg

They are stupid delicious.

20130318-095936.jpg

Epic breakfast with poached eggs, sweet potato cakes, and bacon.

(I’m starting to notice that i use the word “epic” to describe any breakfast that takes longer than 2 minutes to throw together.)

So the Whole30 I was doing for the last 5 days went to hell in a hand-basket. I don’t know how to feel about it–I sort of don’t care. Brad and I were making dinner on Saturday night. It was about 9:30, and we were prepping some chicken drumsticks in a marinade, making “feaux-tatoes”, and chopping veggies. Then suddenly he started cleaning up and putting things away and I was like “whaaaaa?” And he said “I’m hungry. We’re going out.” So he took me to Pesto Cafe (which is probably the best italian restaurant in town) and we drank wine, and stuffed our faces with bread and pasta. And got Shake’s ice cream for dessert. I wore flip flops, because that’s what you wear on impromptu dinner dates. To make matters worse, we made REAL pancakes the next morning. REAL ones. The kind you put together from scratch with flour, egg, baking powder, sugar, etc. I sometimes wish I was sensitive to gluten so that I wouldn’t be able to eat that stuff… is that weird??? (Notice I have no photographic evidence of the epic whole30 fail….)

EDIT:
Said pancakes:

20130318-134147.jpg

I have been unable to get to my almond butter source for the past week. Which means that I’ve gone a whole week without almond butter. Which probably means I am taking in a lot fewer calories than normal. lol. I finally got some, though.

Blurry grind-it-yourself almond butter:

20130318-094250.jpg

I purchased a swimsuit last night! I guess all this carb loading was inspiring me to care about being semi-naked in front of everyone in a few months.

20130318-094401.jpg

That’s the exact suit (i think). I liked it because it seemed like it would provide a lot of coverage up top. And that it would help me get an even tan on my shoulders without gigantic ridiculous tan lines. I’ve never tried a Victoria’s Secret swimsuit, so who knows. It might end up being awful… we will see… Either way, it got an extra secret rewards card for buying it. Maybe I’ll win $500. Right? Most likely so.

My sister found this e-card. It’s pretty indicative about how all of the females in our family feel:

20130318-094318.jpg

I’m not sure what my hair is doing here…
45521_510978635626033_2102770912_nYep–that’s the sweet potato whisperer, himself.

8 thoughts on “HAIRCUT!

  1. njpaleo March 18, 2013 / 11:46 am

    Your new haircut looks great! I just had lunch, but the photos of the avocado chorizo sweet potato skins is making me think of food again….. I never could get through a Whole30….and somehow, I don’t really care at this point. I’m reading the Paleo Coach book by Jason Seib, and he mentions weighing pros and cons with regard to decisions, and frankly, for me, what it always came down to was that the pros weren’t big enough to warrant the “sacrifices”. Maybe if I had diabetes or something I’d be more motivated. Wow, great job on the 13.2! Sounds like you totally rocked it!

    • fabulousinfayetteville March 18, 2013 / 12:15 pm

      I think I am becoming more okay with not being ridiculously perfect paleo. And I feel like the fact that my body doesn’t react poorly to gluten means that I have a little more leeway there then i do with something like dairy that my body obviously hates.

      Which is a shame, because dairy is a lot more “zone” than gluten 😦 lol

  2. ~jenniferlynn March 18, 2013 / 11:52 am

    Love your hair!! I’m so overdue for a new do.. last time I went and they told me I had gray hairs, I freaked out and haven’t been back.. hehe. In denial makes them go away, right?

    AMAZING job on 13.2!! I’m so jealous of all these ladies hitting such big numbers, but 75lbs is SO heavy for me, it was hard to clean it let alone lift it overhead! I’m proud of my 123 anyway.

    Where’s the sweet potato cakes linky? I need those in my life.

    And awesome about the bread and pasta binge.. I love that you’re still a real person behind the paleo perfectionist persona πŸ˜‰ I had pancakes after my 10k. Deep fried greasy oily ones, cause that’s how my Granny makes them. Like elephant ears.

    • fabulousinfayetteville March 18, 2013 / 12:11 pm

      That was a Brad creation. We had leftover baked potato from scooping it out for the chorizo sweet potato skins πŸ™‚ I Think he just made them into cakes, threw ghee into the pan and cooked it like a pancake. There maybe have been more to it than that–he has a magical touch with sweet potatoes.

      Haha yes! I am VERY real and have epic cheats. i feel like when i cheat on paleo, i go big!!!

  3. mary long March 18, 2013 / 12:07 pm

    You have such pretty hair ( not to sound creepy or stalkerish-LOL) I chopped off six inches or so off my hair on Friday – but you can totally tell on me as it’s now up to my shoulders! But it feels so much healthier.
    That’s a really cute suit – I love the colors!

    • fabulousinfayetteville March 18, 2013 / 12:12 pm

      Thanks!! Cutting off that much hair is kinda scary, but I think I will be happy with it. Hey too bad I didnt cut it off BEFORE i did 13.2–I probably could have gotten another round πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

