13.4

Uses time wisely: Unsatisfactory.

That was the only thing on my report card when I was little that wasn’t “O” for outstanding or “S” for satisfactory.

Anyways, yeah. So on Monday night after crossfit, my inner fat kid went to WalMart to get easter candy. I NEEDED the mini cadbury eggs. Don’t ask me why, but I think it was the combination of the fact that I had a coupon and the fact that chocolate could singlehandedly rule the world. Just imagine, a world without chocolate? There would be a lot of sad people… and probably a lot fewer people with diabetes. If I ever get diabetes it will be completely because of chocolate. And possible because of cadbury eggs. I was panicking though because I couldnt find them anywhere! I even recruited an employee to help me search for them. We searched the candy aisle, the seasonal section, and the section by the door…. After a solid half hour of trotting arond walmart for candy, I looked at the section by the door one last time–

20130328-154117.jpg

See that teensy peephole in the middle, there?! Eureka. I got two bags. And also some Reese’s eggs because they looked lonely.

20130328-154125.jpg

I’ll get back on the paleo wagon after Easter…. sorry. Did I really just spend all that time writing about my candy cheat? Ok…

Here’s my usual rutabaga concoction:

20130328-154144.jpg

I seem to eat that about 3 times a week. I’m in a bit of a cooking rut because I feel like I have no free time. I’m having trouble getting motivated to plan and prepare any food for the week at all unless it’s a desert. Does this ever happen to you guys? How do you deal???

Let’s talk about the Open.

20130328-154212.jpg

LOL I look like I am being super careful. Good grief, my thighs are uncomfortably large. Just ask my shorts.

So 13.4 is a 7 Minute AMRAP couplet with Clean & Jerks and Toes to Bar in a sequence that goes “3-6-9-12-15-18,-etc.”

I did it. I had only slept 4 hours the night before and had gotten up early, run 5 miles in 26 degree weather, worked 8 hours, and stayed up late to work out. I wasn’t expecting to do very well at all, but it actually wasn’t too bad! The top athletes were scoring 85-95 reps and I got 83, (completed 15 clean and jerks and was working on the toes to bar) so I was quite pleased. I forgot to use hook grip, and my forearms were boycotting me by the end. I did the last 7 reps of toes to bar one at a time! lol

73707_515399525183944_695644372_nMy workout faces are completely silly.

My plan is to try it again on Sunday and aim to finish those last 15 toes to bars and get a score of 90. That would be pretty b’dass. But 83 is a very solid score too. Toes to bar aren’t my specialty at all…. so I’ll take it!

6 thoughts on “13.4

  1. njpaleo March 28, 2013 / 5:52 pm

    I suddenly have an uncontrollable craving for Reese’s peanut butter eggs……. Great job on the 13.4! Toe to bars wear me out — mostly because my grip is poor and I fall off.

    • fabulousinfayetteville March 29, 2013 / 12:06 am

      I make tape grips and they totally save my life!!! My grip definitely got tired, but those tape grips are the best!

  2. ~jenniferlynn March 29, 2013 / 7:14 am

    Is it weird that I get a little excited when I see paleo-people eating non-paleo things? It’s like a guilty pleasure of mine to read about it.. hehe. Reeses eggs are one of my favorites. Cause there is just SO much peanut butter in them compared to the PB cups or the minis. YUM.

    My fave Easter candy is Starburst jellybeans.. My mom works at a church and after-season, some local drugstores donates the off-season candy to the church (no clue why), so she always gets a few bags for free after. Christmas, Valentine’s Day, Easter, etc.. like you can’t avoid it.. yum.. drool. 😉

    AMAZING job on 13.4!!!

    • fabulousinfayetteville March 29, 2013 / 8:52 am

      Ooooh! I’ve never had the starburst jellybeans. I’m definitely putting that on my guilty pleasures to-do list!

Leave a Reply

