Paleo Gravy???

Hi!!! OMG! So happy it;s Thursday!

It’s been a fast-moving week this week, though. And I’m certainly glad that it’s the last week of the CrossFit Open–ready to be finished with all of that mess. 13.5 was annoinced last night–for most of the crossfit population, this workout will only take 4 minutes to complete. 4 minutes of grinding out 15/15 thrusters and chest to bar pull-ups. For the open, pull-ups have to be chest to bar because anything else is too difficult to judge properly. Too much gray area, so they tighten that up to chest-to-bars and there you go. Not much to argue with there. I tried it last night and completed 69 reps. Considering I can’t string C2B pullups together, that is pretty dang good. I’ll do it again on Saturday and/or Sunday, but I’m pretty content with that score, personally.

I cooked a steak on my lunch break!20130404-113345.jpg

It turned out kind of rare because I was on a time crunch–I wanted to mail a package and deposit a check before my time was up.Β 20130404-113355.jpg

Brad and I made paleOMG biscuits and gravy. Only it was mainly me making that while he made the sides, so it kinda turned out weird.20130404-113403.jpg

The gravy totally burned so it was all brown. And it was wayyyyyy liquidy. It’s like the coconut flour did nothing to thicken it up. Whatever. it still tasted okay, but pale gravy–we’re not finished yet. I WILL conquer you! Dangit!

But, yeah. If you have never made her sweet potato biscuits then you need to do that ASAP. There are a couple different versions, but having shrimp in there was DIVINE. (Although rarely eat shrimp bc of my bizzare allergy to it).

20130404-113410.jpg

I made more rutabaga egg nests for lunch yesterday:20130404-113437.jpg

They only cost about $3.50 to make. Super cheap and satisfying.

Have you ever heard of Unfuck You Habitat?

(Sorry about the profanity, I’m normally not spouting out certain words, but it’s just part of this app’s personality, lol)

You can go to it for inspiration to clean your house and it sets a timer for 20 minutes of work with 10 minute breaks to get you stay motivated and clean up your disgusting apartment. My apartment is disgusting? Why, yes. Yes it is. So I have started using it. I used it last night to start uhf*cking my bathroom. It told me to throw away all the stuff in the cabinets that is expired or gross. So I did two drawers. You have to start somewhere, I guess. I also made some awesome to-do lists. If I chip away at this daily then I am pretty sure that I’ll have a shiny, happy apartment by the end of the month.

20130404-113501.jpg

I feel like I never completely moved into my “habitat” anyways. I have lived there for two years and I have nothing hanging on the walls and my pantry has way more junk in it than it does food. And by “junk” I don’t mean twinkies and lollipops. I mean camping equipment, old pictures, a jewelry box, craft stuff, and who knows what else… I’ll have to take some before and after photos this weekend πŸ™‚

14 thoughts on “Paleo Gravy???

  1. njpaleo April 4, 2013 / 1:18 pm

    Sweet potatoes are my new favorite addiction. I’m such a geek that I bought the book Sweet Potato Power. I REALLY need to try those sweet potato biscuits too!!!!!

    Wow, I need to try that app. With a husband, 2 kids, and 2 dogs, yeah, we need this!

    I wouldn’t even be able to do 1 C2B….yet……but will get there one day!

    • fabulousinfayetteville April 4, 2013 / 1:23 pm

      Yay!!! Post about recipes from that book πŸ™‚ and I said exactly what you said about chest to bar last year! So keep on trucking!

  2. Melissa Love April 4, 2013 / 1:33 pm

    Those sound amazing – by those I mean all that feed. I need to try that biscuits and gravy. And NICE work on 13.5. Bonus – that timer is awesome!

  3. ~jenniferlynn April 4, 2013 / 1:34 pm

    I think your food photography skills are getting better. Or I’m just starving.. πŸ˜‰

    That app looks awesome! Minus the F word. lol. But the concept seems like something I need. Cleaning has seriously dropped so low on my priority list since upping my CF life..

    I’m thinking of Zoning. What are your thoughts?

    • fabulousinfayetteville April 4, 2013 / 1:53 pm

      I want to try zone!!! Let’s try it together!!! Not sure how to get started. I have a collection of guidelines but really I have no idea where to start… its so intimidating! I have been thinking i should just tackle it one meal at a time. get my zone breakfasts figured out. then move on to snacks. then eventually lunch and dinner. not an “overnight” kind of thing… not for me anyway.

      • ~jenniferlynn April 4, 2013 / 2:09 pm

        That’s the advice I got; start with one meal and tweak it, then work from there.

        Claire at http://www.theascentblog.com is my biggest motivator for it lol. I’ve been asking her 100 questions on it.

        I need a little time to get it all figured out; maybe by April 15? We can try to do it?

        So I got one meal figured out; well one snack lol. 1/2 cup sweet potato, 2 tsp almond butter (yes, tsp, not TBSP), and 2oz cheese. That’s my pre-workout snack.

        I’ve been using http://www.crossfitcharlotte.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/09/cfjissue21_May04.pdf which I think is like the Crossfit Zone Bible.

        There are things on there not Paleo, but just tweak it to what you want to eat.

        Basically I heard take your lean mass and divide by 7, and that’s your total number of blocks needed in a day (basically total protein required / 7 grams of protein in 1 block).

        So then you spread those blocks out in the day.

        My plan is take what I already eat, and figure out what to add/subtract to make it work.

        So breakfast, I do 3 eggs (perfect), half an avocado (apparently too much avocado), and a clementine, so I’m short on carbs.. so just have to find something to fill in the gap. Maybe 1/3 of my sweet potato?

        The portions look kind of ridiculous in a lot of things.. like 3 cashews lol.

        Claire tells me it’s not complicated at all after you do it for a couple weeks; that you just “know” what to do. She’s doing Whole30 zone right now on her blog. Crazy.

      • fabulousinfayetteville April 4, 2013 / 2:13 pm

        Yeah someone once told me that 3 almonds are a “block”. Which makes me flash back to days when I counted calories. Which scares me! Ha! I think you can probably tweak the fat a little bit to find out what works for you. But April 15th sounds good! Lets do it!!

      • ~jenniferlynn April 4, 2013 / 2:17 pm

        I think Claire (she’s seriously one of my top blogs, gonna reference her a lot lol) cuts out a block of carb sometimes and replaces with a block of fat. Makes more sense sometimes I guess.
        And yeah, I don’t love the idea of counting calories, but she says it really works.
        Here’s her recap post on her 30 day experiment:
        http://theascentblog.com/zone-progress-photos/

      • fabulousinfayetteville April 4, 2013 / 2:18 pm

        Thanks for sharing!!! She is awesome πŸ™‚ I’m super inspired! Wheeeeeeee

      • Melissa Love April 4, 2013 / 4:50 pm

        I want to try zone toooo! If y’all do I’m jumping in πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

