Hogeye Relay!

I am sooo backed up! (Ew, not literally. You’re gross.) I keep meaning to write blog entries and then not doing it because I get all sidetracked with other things.

Somehow I got to be in charge of dinner the other day. I really wanted to make these salmon and avocado deviled eggs from my new PaleOMG cookbook. (YES! I got her cookbook and highly recommend it!) Perfect for cooking while watching movies on your computer. That way you dont have to pause it to look at the recipe 🙂 I know, I know.  You’re welcome.

20130413-121404.jpg

And since I had no idea what else to fix, I decided to throw some paleo panckaes together.

20130413-121411.jpg

It was a strange combo, but I have no complaints.

The next day we had this ridiculously cheesy pizza hut pizza for dinner:
20130413-121420.jpg

This is going to sound completely insane and make no sense at all, but so far every time I’ve eaten a big greasy pizza for dinner I wake up the next day feeling super lean and toned. It makes absolutely no sense at all… but I swear it happens. And I’m up for experimenting and doing it again… for science.

My usual rutabaga egg nests:

20130413-121427.jpg

I’m just gonna keep eating them ’til I get tired of it. Still hasn’t happened yet.

I went to bliss cupcake cafe after lunch with mom and got this banana pudding cupcake:

20130413-121448.jpg

I have been super full of cheats, but that’s becuase I was planning on starting to eat Zone today…. I’m really not ready but I am going to attempt it anyways.

THE HOGEYE RELAY!

Kate, Sharon, Mindi and I ran the Hogeye Relay this weekend!

554600_631980903824_987857142_n

15224_631980714204_609964637_n

And we WON it! Yay team Golden Girls!!!

20130415-095510.jpg

 

Special thanks to Corrie, who rode in our shuttle to cheer us all on. She was supposed to do the half, but couldn’t because of IT Band sydrome. I seriously hate that! Everyone who runs seems to have that happen to them and it stinks!!!

20130415-095503.jpg

 It was really fun. It always is–I have done that relay four times now. Always lots of epic tales to go along with each experience. One year I arrived there too late to meet the first leg relay teammate after scraping my head the night before. I got back to my dorm to find the fourth leg still asleep in bed! lol. One year we experienced a torrential downpour at the finish line. This year one of my teammates blacked out right before her relay exchange. Crazy things happening, man.

Afterwards Brad and I went to crossfit and did this crazy WOD:

2 squat cleans 185/125

10 T2B (toes to bar)

10 HSPU (hand stand push-up)

2 Squat Cleans

9 T2B

9 HSPU

2 Squat Cleans

8…. all the way to 1 T2B and 1 HSPU

 

I got to enjoy a fantastic post-race and post-WOD meal with Brad:

20130415-095429.jpg

I wish I could eat 5 lbs of his sweet potato hashbrowns.

He created this sautéed berry magic and dumped it onto sliced kiwis:

20130415-095442.jpg

Alright. It’s way too close to lunchtime for me to be gawking at all these food pictures. Happy Monday!!!

8 thoughts on “Hogeye Relay!

  1. M. Love April 15, 2013 / 12:42 pm

    Your food pictures always look so good! That berry/kiwi bowl looks fabulous!!

  2. ~jenniferlynn April 15, 2013 / 2:13 pm

    I heard a couple people doing the whole carb backloading thing that said the same thing about the morning after.. I don’t know enough about it to do it the “right” way, but sounds pretty awesome.. lol.

    Crap, that Zone thing was supposed to start today.. oops.. I did buy a food scale and practiced measuring out chicken.. but that’s about all I got..

    • fabulousinfayetteville April 15, 2013 / 10:08 pm

      Haha, that is still further than I got! I think the hard thing about zone will be keeping food simple. I like to jazz up everything with extra stuffs that make it have way too much fat. And carbs…

  3. njpaleo April 15, 2013 / 2:40 pm

    Congrats on the relay, that’s awesome! Your food always looks so good……

Leave a Reply

