Short Rib Burgers

I finally pulled out my crockpot! I hardly ever use that thing, which is dumb because it makes delicious meals and does it super easily! I really need to use it more. I plan on cooking a whole chicken in there one of these days. There are a lot of things on my “I want to cook this soon” que. 20130419-084921.jpg

Anyways, this week it was short ribs 🙂 Which got made into burgers <—click that!20130419-084852.jpg

So delicious. I used a bottle of Steve’s Orinigal paleo maple mustard sauce in a recipe finally! SO good.20130419-084859.jpg

That was an epic meal. It made enough food to last Brad and I three meals apiece.

20130419-085019.jpg

What a ridiculously horrible thing that happened in Boston. People are really sick, but I enjoyed showing my support by wearing a race shirt. I’ve never worn a race shirt ever. Not a day in my life! I can’t stand the feel of “cheap” technical fabric. But I really liked the design from last year’s Little Rock marathon shirt, so I donned it and wore it Wednesday. Kinda fun being dressed like this at work:

20130419-085026.jpgI am starving to death right now. Coming up on hour-12 of a fast.  I am trying intermittent fasting. I’ve tried it in the past, and it seemed like a pretty easy way to maintain my current weight instead of gaining all the time. I weigh a lot, so I am going to see how it goes this time around. The reason I like IF is because it suits my lifestyle! Since I choose to do my fasting in the first part of the day, I can sleep in a tad and then rush to work on an empty stomach. I pretty much do that anyways minus a couple pieces of fruit once in a while. Now I can justify my laziness. Sounds so much easier than trying to decode the Zone diet, doesn’t it??? lol

One thing that spurred that decision was reading this article about why women should not run. WTF?  (For the record, I think that while this article may have some truth to it, it is mostly BS) I have been a runner for YEARS and I’ve felt like for as much hard work as I put in that I was having an unreasonably difficult fight against the bulge. I would count every calorie and do LOADS of cardio back when I was in college. Granted, I was 15-20lbs lighter back then–but I had exactly the same amount of fat that I do now. Possibly more. And very little muscular definition compared to what I have now.

11054_632003872794_616924443_n

 

I don’t all that different do I? 20lbs heavier? I’m just dressed up in one and post-race in the other…

I will continue to be a runner, but I won’t do obsessive cardio like that any more. It’s not very fun to elliptical for an hour while everyone else is hanging out at the pool having fun. I think the HIIT that comes with my CrossFit workouts is exactly what my body needs. I feel much stronger and healthier now than I did then….probably also because I’m not afraid of calories anymore. Or fat. 🙂

muscle-vs-fat

Happy Friday!!!!

 

10 thoughts on “Short Rib Burgers

  1. Marlea April 19, 2013 / 12:57 pm

    You are beautiful!

  2. njpaleo April 19, 2013 / 5:18 pm

    Well……I’m torn myself. I have been a runner for almost 7 years, and I absolutely love running. Distance running. Yep, I enjoy those long slow distance (LSD) miles. In the beginning, I did it to lose weight, and I did — about 15 pounds. I took up weight training and gained about 8 lbs back. I’m bulkier, slower, larger….but I also bounce back better from all my training (both with running and weightlifting — and I’m 43 years old so that’s a huge deal). I’m not willing to give up running, but I do see some truth in the concept that recreational runners who are just running and not doing weight training can have issues with losing fat. Look at the starting line of any marathon and you see a diverse group of bodies. Just because you run 40-50 miles per week doesn’t mean your body is at a healthy level. However, I do believe that there are ways to still run distance events and have a good body composition, but it has more to do with also focusing on weightlifting (heavy) and eating a paleo diet rich in high quality proteins and vegetables. And there is a part of me that thinks my body might be better if I ditched the distance running….but I love it so much I’m not willing to do it now. That and the fact that more than ever I’m determined to qualify for the Boston Marathon. I hope the 2nd perpetrator is caught soon.

    • fabulousinfayetteville April 19, 2013 / 11:25 pm

      I say keep on running! Always do what you love. But keep lifting heavy, too– and by ALL means do some mobility! Yoga goes very very well with marathon running. 🙂

  3. njpaleo April 19, 2013 / 5:18 pm

    BTW forgot to mention that I think you look great either way! That was rhetorical in my mind, but then I realized I should actually say it! You are one strong girl!

  4. ~jenniferlynn April 19, 2013 / 7:26 pm

    I LOVE my crockpot.. but I get boring with it. Like chicken. All the time. lol.

    I JUST bought some grass fed short ribs from a local market (had a Living Social deal for a new all-Michigan organic something or other place that just opened) and wasn’t sure what to do with it.. I’ll check this out!

  5. polkadotrunner April 19, 2013 / 8:28 pm

    I had to wear my race shirt under a dress at work, but I still did it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

