Mayday!

This morning I ran my Wednesday 5-miler with the girls (I am planning on being more consistent with it so that I can stay conditioned for running while avoiding the summer heat). Kate was talking about May Day–which is apparently a northern thing. I hadn’t heard much about it before.

2460380292_4f35028c93_z

Apparently you put a basket of flowers on someone’s doorstep and then ding-dong ditch. I kindof love that. You can read more about it here.

It sure is nice to have friends in my life who care 🙂 Life is kind of hard right now, but I feel like I have lots of lovely ladies in my life who are ready to talk. Taylor even brought me chocolate on Sunday. Ladies at crossfit are awesome, and all my running buddy ladies. They make the stink a lot less stinky. I should leave them all baskets of flowers today. Ha! I wish I had the resources to do that.

I had made a whole pan of berry bars, but I ended up eating them all by myself. Ooops. :-/

20130501-085715.jpg

I made the PaleOMG 5 ingredient acorn squash bake recipe again.

20130501-085708.jpg

It turned out photogenic for once! Half of the time most of the egg goozes out. So I decided not to fill the skins quite as full as usual and leave a little more room for the egg to chill. It always takes longer to cook than she says it does. It can take up to 20 minutes for the egg whites to get firm. I don’t mind runny yolks much, but runny whites gross me out. Eggs are awesome. They’re like the closest thing to paleo cheese… is that weird?

You know what I haven’t blogged about in AGES? lululemon!!! I guess because I haven’t gotten anything from there that i loved in a really long time. The sizes on the speed shorts are inconsistent and since I don’t live near a store, I just kinda deal with it.

Well, I got the beach blanket blue speed shorts recently and I am in LOVE! They actually ran a little bit big which is ideal for me because my butt keeps growing and most of my other speed shorts feel painted on. But going up a whole size doesn’t look right…

LW7768S_010082_5

LW7768S_010082_4

And here they are on me:20130501-085722.jpg

Jeez, they look tighter than they feel on me… Whatever.

I also got this “Very Green” power y tank top. I have tried on power y tops in the past and always opted not to purchase them, but I really loved this color so I bit the bullet.20130501-085731.jpg

I really don’t like the shelf bra, but the straps are so thin that if I wore a regular sports bra underneath it, that would look ridiculous. It’s not going to be for running. Or jump rope. Or box jumps. Or anything, really. Maybe it will be ok for weight lifting and yoga. And casual summer wear.

But it squishes my back fat:20130501-085739.jpgAnnyoing. But I’m pretty sure that no matter how perfect I eat, I’m just gonna have fat in certain places. Bleh. I might eventually end up selling this, but not before I wear it a couple of times and see how I like it.

Let’s talk crossfit!

In light of being an alternate for the regional team (wheeeeeeee!!!), I’ve decided to make a point to really push myself hard. Not that I don’t always do that, but sometimes when it really sucks, I let myself get in my head and I end up backing off of the motor probably more than I should.

Last night we did an EMOM for 15 minutes with a heavy clean and jerk. I figured I would do 145 or 155. Nope. Started there and quickly worked my way up to 175 and eventually 180. I probably should have added 5 more lbs and gone for a new PR, but my sternum was screaming. I caught a few of the cleans awkwardly and let them slam into my chest Now it is constantly throbbing and swollen. I hope I didn’t break something 😦 Yuck.

After that we did Helen: 3 rounds for time of 400m run, 21 KB swings (35lb) and 12 pullups. 10:47. I beat my previous time by 5 seconds. If I didn’t suck so much at the pullups I’d be totally fine. And if our pull-up bar wasn’t so dang far away from where the 400m run is…

Also, I forgot to mention–I got another bar muscle up on Friday!!! Yeah, it’s been two months since I was last able to do it. It just hasn’t quite “clicked” yet. And the stars have to be aligned correctly.

OH and my birthday is on Sunday.

IMG00229

(that’s cool, I googled and found a cupcake with my name on it!)

Anywho–I honestly don’t feel like celebrating. I’m kinda bummed out this week. Plus pretty much all of my friends are busy this weekend. Except Zach so I am dragging him to dinner with my parents to celebrate mine and my mom’s birthdays (heres is tomorrow).  Then I can finish reading Divergent, clean my apartment, and maybe it will be warm enough to go lay out by the pool before the weekend is over. This post is getting ridiculously long. And it’s all over the place. Part food, part pity party, part crossfit, and part lulu.

Happy Hump Day!  & Happy May Day!

9 thoughts on “Mayday!

  1. NJ Paleo May 1, 2013 / 10:24 am

    I love those Lulu shorts — they look good on you! Sometimes I like the power Y tops and sometimes I don’t…that green one looks good on you. Now I want to go to the store again. That place is such a drain on my wallet! Happy birthday, hope you enjoy it! My 13-year-old daughter and I both loved Divergent — the sign of a good book is when it appeals to all ages. That’s great that you’re on the regional team too, woo hoo!

    • fabulousinfayetteville May 1, 2013 / 10:39 am

      Thanks! I am only halfway through Divergent, but it’s totally hunger games-esque which is really fun lately.

      I think it is bittersweet that I don’t live near a lulu store. I can’t try things on, i just have to cross my fingers and buy them before they sell out 🙂 BUT I probably buy a lot less than I would if I went to the store. Eek!

  2. polkadotrunner May 1, 2013 / 2:44 pm

    I seriously want to raid your closet. Seriously. Yay for May day! We also include candy in the may baskets too 🙂

  3. polkadotrunner May 1, 2013 / 3:02 pm

    and congrats on being an alternate. You are seriously awesome, my friend 🙂

  4. ~jenniferlynn May 4, 2013 / 7:51 pm

    Happy birthday!!!!!!!!! 🙂 What are you now, 24? ;P

    I seriously wish I had your body. Mainly so I could start throwing more than 100lbs overhead.. 😉 Love how that green tank fits you!

  5. C May 7, 2013 / 5:50 am

    Um, that is muscle- not fat! You are looking seriously fit. Congrats!! Hope you cheer up and had a nice birthday 🙂

Leave a Reply

