Crawfish Boil & Reconciliation

My crossfit box is the best! Every spring we have a crawfish boil at the box and we all stand around, drink beer, play baggo, and eat about 150lbs of crawfish.

20130514-091233.jpg

I think that it’s a little bit tricky to get past the ickyness of ripping off their tails and extracting the meat, but they’re pretty dang tasty. The fact that they are a crustacean makes me a little nervous to eat them because of my shellfish allergy tendencies, but I kinda think the main thing I am allergic to is the iodine. Allison suggested that, and I think she might be right. But I am still careful not to mix shellfish consumption with intense cardio. Luckily this boil was on a rest day ๐Ÿ™‚
178926_534599693263927_1741019987_n

I’m pretty terrible at baggo, though (aka bean bag toss, aka cornhole…)

198107_534601419930421_1313135877_n

I’m dog-sitting right now, which is bittersweet. They are a lot of work because Breanie is a million years old and won’t eat. The other two are just fur nuggets. Kooda likes to wake me up by sitting on my and licking my eyes and ears and peanut enjoys barking yippity-style in the wee hours of the morning. I’m sure I would probably enjoy that too if I didn’t have any responsibilities in my life, so I can’t fault him too much.

Peanut:

20130514-091241.jpg

 

Kooda:20130514-091247.jpg

Guess what I managed to do?! I broke my vitamix!!! I was making these plantain biscuits from PaleOMG, and when I tried to mix up the dry ingredients… I guess it was too sticky? I don’t know. I ย was under the impression that vitamix blenders could handle that….

20130514-091306.jpg

It was starting to walk across the countertop though… I’m going to look into having it replaced or repaired soon. Because that is straight up depressing! I really love that thing for cooking. But maybe I should have gone with a blendtec blender instead. I was very torn between the two.

Here’s last night’s dinner.

20130514-091324.jpgI am starting a whole30 on Wednesdayย  uhh, TOMORROW. With Taylor because she is trying to get awesome for Mexico. And I just wanna get awesome for the sake of being awesome, since my summer plans don’t really include the beach or anything. Just a lil’ trip to Chicago for regionals and a bunch of time at the lake. I can’t complain ๐Ÿ™‚

946509_544916982218012_225418919_n

P.S. BTW, Not single anymore. I guess that’s what happens when you break up with someone and then they’re at the same crawfish boil as you and you weren’t sure what you wanted in the first place, so you give it another shot. I used to totally roll my eyes at those people, but now I am one of them. I mean, it would be different if we manipulated, cheated on, lied to, or used eachother. But that’s not the case. It can end one of two ways: Way 1–I figure out with absolute certainty that this cannot ever work. Way 2–I figure out with absolute certainty that it can. Either way, it’s worth it.

3 thoughts on “Crawfish Boil & Reconciliation

  1. ~jenniferlynn May 15, 2013 / 7:55 pm

    Ooh.. fancy new blog layout! Cute! ๐Ÿ™‚

    So.. the whole Vitamix thing. My coworker swears by it, and she’s a penny pincher like me but says it’s like the one must-have thing in life. Please explain to me why it is worth the ridiculous price tag, and how it will be helpful in my paleo lifestyle. I cannot justify it. Write a big long blog post about it. Seriously. Help. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    That whole fish thing creeps me out… but looks like it had a happy ending for you ๐Ÿ™‚ Totally get what you’re saying. Been there, done that. Three times, maybe four now. Same guy. But this time I think it’s really for real done.. since he moved out and all.. blah.

    Anyway…. I was ALMOST going to go to the Chicago regionals since I have a 10k I’m running during the Central East but I think I’m just going to do my race then go to Ohio for the rest of the day Saturday and all day Sunday… so I think you should tweak some plans and make some effort to meet me in Ohio. ๐Ÿ™‚ June 9-10.

  2. njpaleo May 15, 2013 / 8:02 pm

    The little doggies are sooooo cute! I love pomeranians. Crawfish are like mini-lobsters. My husband’s fraternity used to have a crawfish boil party every year so I got used to them. They’re quite good actually. Good luck on the reconciliation. Relationships are confusing (and I’ve been in the same one for over 20 years and no matter what it takes work…but a good one is worth it). And off-topic but I broke down and bought a new lululemon shirt — one of the long sleeve silverescent ones, it’s pale green with blue sleeves…I’m a sucker for those shirts..and I got a bright blue sports bra that was on sale and matches the sleeves on the shirt. I always think of you when I go in there now!

    • fabulousinfayetteville May 16, 2013 / 10:19 am

      oooooh that sounds like one of the swiftlys! i love those for layering on cooler runs. They are SO cute! I want one with the half-zip– i wish they’d hurry up and make more of those, I missed them last year.

Leave a Reply

