Is that paleo?

This week has started off with a lot of epic food, so I felt a strong need to discuss my delicious endeavors I might not be 100% whole30, but I have been eating well. This is all weekday food, which is awesome. Seems like most of the time I only end up with food this tasty on weekends. So… steaks and potato cakes with Brad. And veggie stir fry. Because he’s really freaking good at making skillet veggies. I wanna do it more but I kindof loathe chopping up vegetables…20130522-095049.jpg

The next morning:20130522-095055.jpg

Starting every day with bacon and berries is a must. Especially during a whole 30. Dang, I was totally going to cut back on carbs, but I’ve kindof been failing at that lately. Delicious fruit spreads have been dancing on my tastebuds and ruining all my good decisions 😛

So this you must try. Nom nom paleo asian chicken thighs.20130522-095107.jpg

I threw together some cauliflower mash and made some skillet brussels sprouts.

& THEN

This morning I got up and made PaleOMG banana bread french toast.20130522-095117.jpg

It was ridiculous. The best Wednesday morning breakfast I’ve ever had. Ever. in the UNiVeRsE.

Time to talk crossfit again. I am super deflated about my performance for the past week or so at crossfit. We did a WOD on Friday where it was three rounds for time of 10 deadlifts at 205 and run 800m. Deadlifts paired with running are my body’s worst nightmare. The first round was pretty easy. Then, when I was coming back in after the second 800m run, my calf  was totally out of comission. I actually limped back to my bar to complete the third set of deads. Which I barely made it through. Then I went out for the third run and couldn’t do it at all. So I completed the last 800 meters on the rower 😦 my back was fried and my calf was completely done. I managed to jog the warrior dash, but I have had pain even while walking ever since Friday. I think this injury has been coming on for a few weeks now, but those 800m runs did me in.

Then yesterday we did a 5 rounds for time of 10 snatches and 10 pullups. Normally that would have been easy at only 65lbs, but my back completely locked up and I DNF’ed it. I made 4 rounds but I couldn’t even bend over to pick up my weight belt after that sh*t was over.

It sucks when your body won’t cooperate with your plans. My calf and my back are definitely keeping me from doing what I want… fortunately that is giving me a little extra drive to work on the the things that AREN’T injurted, so I’ve worked on handstand pushups, pullups, and ring dips. We did Elizabeth (21/15/9 cleans and ring dips) on Tuesday and I was able to stay with the skinny purple band for ring dips the whole time.

I went ahead and bought my regional ticket. One of my goals at regionals is to go locate the Life AsRx booth and buy this tank:

20130522-095144.jpg
Because it’s ridiculously awesome.

Here’s what my Memorial Day weekend looks like: (I’m way excited!)

  • Saturday: SIDA memorial WOD. Wakeboarding. Parents’ anniversary dinner.
  • Sunday: Crossfit WOD, snatch practice. More wakeboarding?
  • Monday: crossfit 5k at 8:00 AM. Nap. Even more wakeboarding?

Three day weekends are the best!

What’s even better??? Two days weeks. 🙂 Going to North Central Regionals next weekend! Wheeee!!!

8 thoughts on “Is that paleo?

  1. ~jenniferlynn May 22, 2013 / 11:22 am

    BUMMER about the injuries!!! 😦 That’s sooooo stinky!!! Hopefully everything gets back in order asap!

    My Memorial weekend is Saturday: Oly; Sunday: Beach/park WOD/picnic with CF folks; Monday: Murph. Freaking TERRIFIED.

    And then in two weeks is our regionals!! Central East.. whooo!!! (assuming I don’t die at my 10k I’m signed up for on the 8th..)

    • fabulousinfayetteville May 22, 2013 / 11:24 am

      Haha you’ll do great!!! OMG you are doing Murph?! I’ve never done it! Make sure you wear grips so your hands to turn into hamburger on all those pull-ups 😉

      • ~jenniferlynn May 22, 2013 / 11:26 am

        I ripped Monday doing 10/10/10/10 pullups,pushups, situps, squats 25 minute timecap. SO mad.. 😦
        I can imagine Monday will not be pleasant.

  2. polkadotrunner May 22, 2013 / 3:00 pm

    Your weekend sounds fun! 🙂 Enjoy all of it and regionals! Maybe I’ll see you for a run someday ! 😉

  3. njpaleo May 22, 2013 / 3:06 pm

    I hate it when injuries or fatigue or whatever mess with my performance. It stinks…..but I bet you’ll kill it in a couple of days! Your food always looks so good. And I love that “Is it paleo” shirt! LOL! BTW I did Murph last year — took my son (who was 10) to the park and he did part of it with me then got bored and shot hoops.

    • fabulousinfayetteville May 22, 2013 / 3:08 pm

      200 push-ups would literally take me 30 minutes! If I was lucky! I think I would have to do them on my knees to avoid dying. Lol

Leave a Reply

