Ripe Bananas

Yeah. This post is going to be about all of the food that I haven’t had a chance to talk about. I’m the worst blogger ever… not sure what my excuse is, really, but whatever. So when I first got back from Chicago my amazingly talented boyfriend had been marinating a lamb rack. He seared it and baked it and welcomed me home with it! Alongside spinach, cauliflower mash, and sweet potato fries:20130610-143041.jpg

We made a wing recipe from Practical Paleo. Pinapple Teriyaki wings with garlic Aioli dipping sauuce.20130610-143050.jpg

And a big epic sausage/bacon/spinach/tomato/and stuff quiche.20130610-143104.jpg

And then life brought me some ripe bananas.20130610-143124.jpg

So obviously, I made banana bread french toast. Duh.20130610-143131.jpg

So the food in my life has been very good. And so has the fun! I’m still carefully waiting for my tendon to heal, so I haven’t been running except for a couple of short jogs at crossfi. But on Saturday we went to the lake and had a pretty awesome time.

1000546_10151261495327168_2146871635_n 972263_10151261495652168_1773382926_n

 

We had a misfortune on the way home when some doo-doo brain was making a left turn without using the turn lane. My sister’s husband was towing the boat with her car when it happened. The force from the boat made him unable to stop in time so we ended up rear-ending a truck and the boat crashed into the trailer.

20130610-143145.jpg

My dad says it’s just a cosmetic issue and that the boat won’t take on water because of it, which is a relief. So we should be able to continue playing with it until the end of the summer, hopefully!

Crossfit is going ok. I feel like I’m not very good at workouts lately. I’ve had a hard time. Last night I was dying trying to get through this WOD:

3 rounds for time:

145lb  squat clean x 5

run 4o0m

My squat cleans were ridiculously slow. I need to practice staying upright. Front squats, overhead squats, all that stuff… today we are doing overhead squat max. And running a mile for time. It’s going to be interesting. This will be my first mile to run since…. uh… almost a month ago. Oops. 😦 Pretty sure my goal is just to be under 7 minutes. It’s going to be 93 degrees and humid during that run :-/

There is one thing I am better at: rope climbs. I still don’t know how to come down without burning the poop out of my shin, but I can go up it in two and a half pulls, which is very nice –use those legs!!!

 

5 thoughts on “Ripe Bananas

  1. ~jenniferlynn June 12, 2013 / 1:14 pm

    Where is your bacon from? It’s so pretty.. do you bake it?

    And injuries are stinky!! Hoping for a speedy recovery!

    • fabulousinfayetteville June 17, 2013 / 9:56 am

      I always bake bacon–SO easy! i get the “uncured” nitrate-free kind at walmart. I think its still cured though… Not sure exactly what that means because it still contains a tiny amount of sugar.

      Thanks! Doing MUCH better with my calf now 🙂

      • ~jenniferlynn June 17, 2013 / 10:00 am

        Yeah, Costco has uncured nitrate-free bacon, but sugar is in the ingredients, though I think the nutrition content has 0 sugars. Who knows. It’s delicious. 😉

  2. njpaleo June 12, 2013 / 7:14 pm

    Your posts always make me hungry…….and I just had dinner! I can’t remember the last time I’ve done a time trial for 1 mile…..mine are always buried somewhere in a race! Sounds like you’ve had fun though!

    • fabulousinfayetteville June 17, 2013 / 9:57 am

      You should try a timed mile—it sucks right now because its getting hot, but I bet you will be surprised by how fast you can do one all-out mile 🙂 I know I was!

Leave a Reply

