Jack Stack BBQ!

Happy Friday! I’m finally writing about the BBQ place that we ate it in Kansas City.

We ordered wings for an appetizer. The waiter said they are the best wings he has ever had, so why not? Right?20130719-091657.jpg

He wasn’t kidding. They were cooked for hours with cajun seasonings. And they are fall-off-the-bone good. Add a smidge of their insanely delicious BBQ sauce for the most ridiculously delicious wing experiences you would ever possible hope for. I’m no wing connoisseur, but I feel like after eating those that I could be.

For our entre,e we split this giant plate of meats. It had ham, beed, pork, and I think pork ribs. It was stupid good. Especially the ribs. I think these ribs are my new favorite food in the world, seriously!20130719-091705.jpg

We got to pick two sides, so naturally we got “cheesy corn” and “the best baked beans in the universe”. Facts.20130719-091711.jpg

We also got slaw. Which I tried, but I just straight-up dont care for it. I’d rather have my vegetables without being covered in crap that tastes like miracle whip, but thanks anyhoo.20130719-091717.jpg

We are with Jess and Paz. They pretty much ordered the same thing we did which was good because I’m pretty sure there might have been fistfights if only one of those dinners made it to our table. Knock-down dragout fist fights.20130719-091724.jpg

Now that vacation time is over we are back to eating healthy 100% of the time again… ok maybe it’s more like 85%. Sometimes you need reeses pieces in your life. When you go see movies. And when you blend up frozen bananas.

We made nom nom paleo’s asian chicken thighs:

20130719-091735.jpg

Along with her mashed cauliflower and a tomato salad that I made up. Basically it was just oil and balsamic vinegar with tomatoes and some dried basil bc walmart never has any fresh in stock.

Then last night we repeated the spaghetti squash meat sauce dinner only we added more veggies.

20130719-091740.jpgAnd I didn’t overcook the squash for once! Weeee!

Quick crossfit blurb:

So, I did TEN bar muscle ups the other day! Like… without a band!!! BOOM! I was so amped. I took me about half an hour to do that many, but I was just ecstatic to be able to do any at all because we have HOA tryouts coming up and I was really hoping I could get better at them in time for tryouts.

I am being all annoying and attempting to lose some LB’s for a couple of (what I think are) legit reasons:

1.) my shorts are all feeling super tight. Maybe they were tight all along but I feel awkward lately when I glance in the mirror and I look like I am wearing a diaper. Or bloomers. Or something that isn’t very shorts-like because it’s all bunched and folded and beating eaten alive by my enormous thighs. I am sizing up in my lulu’s when I buy the 2-way stretch except I feel like they’re almost falling off of me. But my regular size was kind of constricting. I need to convince them to made odd numbered sizes. Can we do a size 9?? I’m also pretty sure I know about 30 people who wish there was a size 5. Wow that was a long explanation.

2.) If I could weigh a little less then I think I wouldn’t have nearly as much trouble getting gymnastics stuff figured out. Muscle-ups are super annoying. I also need to hurry up and be proficient at handstand pushups without mats. Either that or just be cool with using plates when I use an ab mat. Which I am. Because my head likes cushion.

3.) This reason, which is the least justified but the most important, is that I keep seeing tons of extremely unflattering photos of me on facebook. Not liking that at all…. lol, here’s one example. Blegh…

Have a fantabulous weekend!

4 thoughts on “Jack Stack BBQ!

  1. njpaleo July 19, 2013 / 12:55 pm

    Yum, I’ve been to Jack Stack in KC when we were there last year and it was totally awesome. Ugh, I hate the whole “losing pounds” thing. I might need to lose a couple myself and am not motivated to do so…..probably won’t even try. For some reason my body wants to gain weight in winter and summer and it loses weight effortlessly in spring and fall. Weird. Good luck with it though. I don’t think you need to lose any but we’re our own worst critics.

    • fabulousinfayetteville July 22, 2013 / 9:15 am

      Yeah, i hate falling into the “mainstream” when I have goals like that, but I want to get better at gymnastics and I feel like weighing less is going to get me better at it a lost faster than trying to gain that much strength… i’ve got a long way to go :-/

  2. ~jenniferlynn July 21, 2013 / 6:42 pm

    I don’t think that pic looks bad!! 🙂 I seriously admire your strength, lady! And no skinny girl is going to be able to crank out lifts like you do. I’m trying to gain a few more pounds just cause I think it may help me get stronger.. lol.

    • fabulousinfayetteville July 22, 2013 / 9:17 am

      Aww thank you!! I definitely see my size as a hugely positive impact on my lifting ability more often than I see it as a flaw. Lifting seems to come up a lot more in workouts than gymnastics does–I just want to be a well-rounded athlete who can lift heavy and kick butt at body weight. It’s a hard place to find :-/

Leave a Reply

