Lazy Summer

Silly me. I forgot again that I have a blog! Ha.

What’s new? Well I will tell you. I have another whole30 headed my way! I’m actually excited about it at this point. Honestly, the only way to get through it is to focus on what you can have instead of what you can’t. I am starting it with Brad on August 1st. I feel like I am a pretty terrible looking “before” picture right now (I obviously retain the right to refuse to show  any comparisons until the end of this whole30–lol). I need some discipline in my life. Plus HOA tryouts are happening in like three weeks. And we’re going to Florida (which needed to be orange for emphasis of how much more fun its going to be there than it is here) .

Here are a few of my recent bad decisions:20130730-144416.jpgMellow mushroom pizza–half kosmic karma, and half…something white. With bacon.

Post-lake meal:20130730-144425.jpgRandom burger place that had sweet potato fries. and YES, for some reason, I ate the dang bun.

I’m calling this post “lazy summer” because I’ve basically been on something I like to call “unproductive autopilot”. I work out and sleep and eat whatever I can get my hands on and that’s about it. Kinda like a zombie only less gory.

I haven’t been completely terrible, though. Last night we made a gigantic semi-paleo meal. The tomato salad had mozzarella and then we ate ice cream… which is probably why my stomach is glaring at me (hello, dairy!). Not an ideal situation to be in. I’ll avoid going into more details about that.

20130730-144438.jpg

I also made plantain biscuits! And I used my food processor because last time my blender almost died trying to chop up cooked plantains—who knew?  Be careful what you put in your $300 blender!!!

20130730-144445.jpg

And yeah, finally made it to the lake! I’ve been a terrible slacker this summer about getting my ish together and taking the boat out. There just aren’t enough hours in the day. I either need to become more productive during the week (i.e. sleeping more and cleaning more and working out more…. except that when you have a full time job that can get a bit sticky). OR I need to just inject myself with caffeine all the time (only its not whole30 compliant).20130730-144509.jpg

Oh! So on Saturday my car wouldn’t start so I had to skip crossfit. I ended up going for a solo run instead around lake fayetteville via the new blacktop trail system. I might as well have just taken the dirt trails–It was 6.2 miles and took me an HOUR. Yep. 60 minutes to run that far. That’s pretty dang slow for me–about a 9:45 mile. I’m okay with it, though. I want to work on getting my endurance back to where it was when I started crossfit in February 2012. I was an endurance junkie back then, but things have changed a bit now. I have a blister on my toe to prove it!

Anywho. Baby steps will get me there. Baby steps and good spotify playlists.

2 thoughts on “Lazy Summer

  1. polkadotrunner July 31, 2013 / 10:46 am

    I’m glad that I made you get a final Chai today! and Florida, huh?? That’s awesome sauce!

    • fabulousinfayetteville July 31, 2013 / 10:48 am

      Yes!! I have the cuddly feeling of chilled Christmas in my tummy. Life is good 🙂

Leave a Reply

