Paleo-Zone

I have been trying pretty hard to stick to the Zone diet and the paleo diet, but I am awful at snacks. I am definitely turning into that rude person who eats tuna at their desk! Sorry coworkers, but zone requires protein in the snacks and since dairy isn’t paleo I wind up with lots of tuna. Cuz it’s portable and simple. And paleo. And goes well with apples…

Here are some of my meals:20130815-095918.jpg

Mmm, homemade paleo pesto.

20130815-095934.jpg

 

Tomato salad is super easy and delicious and a great way to get enough carbs. Oddly, I’ve found it rather challenging to eat enough carbs. Especially in the form of vegetables. You have to eat a GIANT SCOOP of them to hit the right number of carbs.20130815-095947.jpg

Cauliflower feaux-tatoes are completely useless on a zone diet. All they count for is fat basically. Cauliflower has hardly any carbs. But I add butter, so it’s got plenty of fat 🙂

Here’s some breakfast sauce with fried eggs and hash browns. NOM.

20130815-095958.jpg

Here’s Brad’s “quick zone breakfast concoction”.  Hardboiled eggs, spinach, turkey sasage, hot sauce, and I think he also adds a secret ingredient. It’s pretty awesome, takes the same amount of time to make as scrambled eggs (only less prep) but it is a lot more portable so you can take it to work. Ooooh, hard boiled eggs! The perfect companion for my stinky tuna.20130815-100004.jpg

Speaking of portable, Brad got this protein for us to make paleo portable treats:20130815-100010.jpg

I have plans for it…. I am thinking pumpkin muffins and protein bars. Don’t worry, I’ll let you know 🙂

I’ve been using my slow cooker a lot lately! Rump roast (pictured above), salsa chicken, and short ribs (which we had last night and I completely forgot to take a pic of! They were the most delicious of the three.).

20130815-100025.jpg

I have been using the myfitnesspal app to keep an eye on macronutrient ratios. I really haven’t figured out the best way things to eat yet, but I am finally making headway on getting comfortable with what “blocks” are like. I am especially good at breakfast. I am especially bad at eating the right amount of fat. Which I decided is the least important part— as long as I am keeping the carb-to-protein ratio of Zone then I am probably not too bad. And then I just choose to eat less fast when possible. I MISS YOU, ALMOND BUTTER!!!!

20130815-100625.jpg

 

(This screen shot was from a pretty tidy meal!)

I have been trying to push hard in workouts lately. Sometimes it pays off and sometimes it doesn’t.

20130815-100042.jpg

Sometimes I think no matter how many snatches or cleans I do I never seem to get any better at them. That’s what makes corssfit hard—you have to be good at EVERYTHING! And there are like 35 things to be good at.

20130815-100053.jpg

HOA tryouts are next weekend. I’m okay with it, it is what it is at this point. I might get a bar muscle up and I might not, all I can do is try my hardest. No matter what the outcome of tryouts is, I know I will be on a great team with some amazing people who are phenomenal athletes.

4 thoughts on “Paleo-Zone

  1. ~jenniferlynn August 16, 2013 / 7:23 am

    So impressed that ou’re dedicated to Zone! It sounds so easy in theory, but I know it’s tough!
    I like to eat eggs, sweet potato, and almond butter for breakfast.. Well, then I’m over on my fat.. so need more eggs or meat.. and yeah, vicious cycle. I’m focusing on eating more, and even adding rice and oatmeal. We’ll see.. it’s all a process, right?

    What is in that paleo protein? Sounds interesting..

    • fabulousinfayetteville August 16, 2013 / 11:53 am

      I think i am even starting to see improvement in my crossfit performance. It’s either the fact that it’s a LOT cooler this past week or its my diet. or both. lol I just have had a lot more gas in the tank 🙂 its awesome!

    • fabulousinfayetteville August 16, 2013 / 11:54 am

      also–dont be afraid of going over on the fat. I think the protein-carb ratio is all that really matters most of the time.

      and i have no idea whats in there. Beef? Whatever it is its kindof gross. lol

  2. Michelle March 11, 2014 / 10:31 am

    Great Post!!!

    The Zone was the missing piece to the puzzle for me and a pinnacle discovery in my training. I started feeling better both mentally and physically, which allowed me to push harder within my training and performance, thus resulting in a leaner, stronger, happier, and fitter me!!!

    My thoughts and experience on the Zone Diet below:

    http://myjourneyrx.com/2014/03/11/my-experience-on-the-zone-diet/

    Take Care,

    Michelle

Leave a Reply

