Zone-ish things

I’ve found that trying to eat paleo-zone makes it REALLY hard to get the right amount of carbs. If you’re trying to get 4 blocks of carbs (36 grams) through vegetables then you better be ready to chew a massive amount of food. Blegh. I’m pretty sure the version of zone that I am doing most of the time is about 50% fat, 35% protein, and 15% carbs. LOL. not really. But I never thought i’d be constantly working at adding carbs to every meal. Only I am lazy so it always ends up being  squash, sweet potato, or I just eat a banana with my meal.

This meal was WAYYYYY over the fat level…

20130823-153601.jpg

Here is my kind of lunch! This is what I had yestday. I washed it down with a banana to make sure I got lots of carbs. And no, I didn’t weigh and measure my steak. Ain’t nobody got time for that!

20130823-153606.jpg

Yesterday I slowcooked some chicken breasts in the crockpot. I got inspired buy this post on PaleOmg, so I decided to make a whole mexican style plate out of it complete with faux rice and some avocado. And I added cooked onion. Because raw onion  gets me all emotional when I eat it.

20130823-153628.jpg

Looks like a good dinner to meeeee!!! I don’t have the foggiest idea about how “zone” it is, but I am going to guess it has too much fat and not enough carbs. As usual.

20130823-153634.jpg

Also last night i made some pumpkin muffins! I use this recipe as a guide, and left out half a cup of almond flour and used my paleo protein powder instead. I freaking love cooking with that stuff! I also left out the chopped almond pieces and I added in extra spices (nutmeg, cloves, etc.) I ended up calculating the nutrition with myfitnesspal:

12 muffins. Per muffin: 120 calories, 7.6 grams protein, 7.6 grams carbs, 7 grams of fat. AKA: one block of protein, almost a block of carbs, and like two and a half blocks of fat.

I tried.

Kinda.

But look at my adorable single-serving cupcake holder that I randomly found at walmart and thought I’d never have a use for:

20130823-153641.jpg

Exactly perfect for bringing snickety snacks to work! HA! I win.

Just in case you forgot, this is what a REAL cupcake looks like.

20130823-153704.jpg

I’m attempting to distract myself from the fact that HOA tryouts are starting um, in like 2 hours.

#theweekendthatdidntfeellikeaweekendatall

 

Leave a Reply

