HOA Tryouts

So (as they do every year) my box is planning on competing at the Heart of America Crossfit Challenge in Springfield, MO. I guess they have tryouts every year, but this year they held tryouts for only the top two teams instead of all of them. I am thinking our box will send at least 6 or 7 teams, but registration fills up so fast that it makes more sense for them just to be responsible for sending a few.

I have been preparing myself for tryouts for quite a while–working on bar muscle ups every chance I could. One day I did TEN of them. Most days I just did 20 or 30 failed attempts. I still have a month to nail them because of Wod Wars (a competition that our gym is hosting on Oct 5th).

Anywho, let’s get on with what happened! Only three workouts this year’s tryouts (last year we did like 8 or 9!). The first one is the 540:

13 minute cutoff:

50 OH lunges

40 pull-ups

30 thrusters (95/65)

20 burpees

10 cleans (135/95)

20130827-094051.jpg

 

I was able to string more pull-ups together than in years past, but the thrusters almost killed me for some reason. My personal best from last year’s tryouts was 10:27. This year I somehow managed to shave exactly 60 seconds off of that! even with my thruster fiasco πŸ™‚ lol

Here is my very last rep of the entire workout:20130827-094056.jpg

I then collapsed on the ground.

Day 2 was “the skill ladder” day.

The Skill Ladder

2 min MU/ pullups 1/10*

**one muscle up is worth ten pull-ups, etc

rest 2

2 min Pistols/ Lunges 1/5

rest

2 min HSPU / Feet on plate Pushups 1/5

rest

2 min DU- no other option

rest

2 min Bar MU / Ring Dips 1/10

rest

2 min Rope Climbs/ no other option

This was NOT my favorite day. I started off with 35 pull-ups. Not all that great, but since I don’t have a ring muscle up, it’s all I could really do.

995978_584760438247852_1289163191_n

 

Next was pistols. I am fairly new at them, but I managed to get into a rhythm and crank out 50 in two minutes! I’ll take it!

20130827-094108.jpg

 

Hand stand pushups were next (luckily Bud didn’t manage to get a photo of me over there! lol). My goal was 15, and I ended up getting 19. I just wanted to make sure that no one who opted for regular pushups could beat me! Β Good luck to getting 95 pushups in two minutes! lol yuck. I was glad–this was one of my first times to ever do RX handstand pushups. Just not one of my strong suits,

Onto double-unders:

20130827-094102.jpg

 

Nice face.

Anywho, I got tripped up a lot more than I wanted to, but I still managed to get 145 reps. My goal was 120, so I happily surpassed that πŸ™‚ My last 20 reps or so were crazy insane fast. And I was getting pretty tired at this point from all of the other skills.

Finished up the skill ladder with some failed attempts at bar muscle ups and then 5 rope climbs.

I kinda think that pretty much everyone got 5.

1238931_10151653721623191_186151767_n

Day 3 of tryouts. Sunday afternoon was my favorite πŸ™‚ The OLY liftying day!

10 minutes to find both maxes:

2 rep touch and go Clean- on second clean- jerk

1 Snatch- without dropping- 1 hanging snatch

add totals together

Most people started with the snatch so that you would be able to just add more weight to the bar instead of having to strip weight off. You are responsible for your own dressing of the barbell and that is part of your time. Β I follow suit and began with the snatch first.

(be warned. these faces are hilarious.)

20130827-094027.jpg

Eugh, I have got to figure out how to keep my knees out.

I got 130# on the snatch complex in practice a couple days before tyrouts and was able to nail it again!!! I sort of thought it was a fluke since that happens to be my one rep max. I have only squat-snatched it once.

During the two cleans and jerk, I ended up failing on a 175lb clean with one minute left. Then Colton walked by and said “wait till the clock says 9:40 and then go!” That was the hardest wait ever because I knew I’d only have one chance.

I went at :38 (lol. close, enough!)

I caught the first clean. I caught the 2nd clean! Then went for the jerk….faltered….

20130827-094000.jpg

NAILED IT.

20130827-094032.jpg

Which ended up being good enough for me to squeak into the last spot on the #2 team. Yay!

Excited to compete in for NovemberΒ πŸ™‚

10 thoughts on “HOA Tryouts

  1. Ms_MLove August 27, 2013 / 1:49 pm

    Girl — LOOK. AT. YOU. !!!!! Nice work! You’re on my list of people I’m chasing and want to be like. You’re fabulous. Can’t wait to hear how training and the competition goes!! Keep it up love!

  2. ~jenniferlynn August 27, 2013 / 1:54 pm

    AWESOME!! And love all the pics, too!! That clean and jerk is amazing!!! Looks like it was tons of fun, you know, in the masochistic way.. Awesome girl!!

    • fabulousinfayetteville August 27, 2013 / 1:59 pm

      Haha, thanks! Yes it was fun–especially because my story has a happy ending. I am just hoping that I will be able to hold my end of the deal in the actual competition–there are a couple skills on the standards list that I haven’t quite mastered. i.e.—the ring muscle up. EEK!

  3. njpaleo August 27, 2013 / 2:02 pm

    Wow, congrats, you nailed it! And you are so freakin’ strong!!!!! I’m sooooo glad you made it onto the team, you’re going to have a blast!

    • fabulousinfayetteville August 27, 2013 / 2:06 pm

      Aw thank you!! I am excited to be able to write about it later πŸ™‚ should be an awesome time!

  4. polkadotrunner August 27, 2013 / 6:13 pm

    You are my hero. End of story. Congrats, lady! You worked so hard and it paid off!!! πŸ™‚

  5. Rachel August 27, 2013 / 7:29 pm

    Yay! Congrats!! That is so awesome!

Leave a Reply

