Halloweeeeeen!

Tehcnically, Halloween hasn’t even happened yet. Lucky me, I get to celebrate it twice! I went to a party on Saturday and am going to party #2 this Friday! Yippity skippity—I get to wear my awesome costume twice! I love exclamation points!!!!! But we’ll get to that costume in a sec… first here are some eats:

Apple Blossom: vegatable “chili” and the turkey bacon sandwich.20131028-104354.jpg

I guess you can add chili powder to any soup and call it chili. It’s cool… I LOVE chili this time of year. Seriously could eat it for every meal–not sure my digestive system would be a fan of that but my tastebuds certainly would!

Some sort of club sandwich and brocoli cheese soup from McAlister’s Deli:

20131028-104403.jpgI’m such a soup and sandwich lady.

So for the party on Saturday I brought my usual homemade guacamole. Everyone raved about it, so I was really really happy with it. I kinda made up the recipe but it was inspired by the tableside guacamole that some restaurants do.

Here’s what i used:

  • 4 avacados
  • small handful of chopped cilantro
  • about 1/4 c of finely diced red onion
  • about 10 quartered cherry tomatoes
  • a generous squeeze of lime juice
  • 1-2 tsp of garlic powder
  • salt to taste. Don’t be scared, salt it up!!!

Let’s be honest. I added everything “to taste”.  And I also saved one of the avocados and cut it into cubes and mixed them in last so that it would be “chunky”. Except that it was already kindof chunky because the ripest avocados I could find were still pretty firm. But I made it work with a fork and some elbow grease.

Elbow grease, yummmm…..

20131028-104449.jpg

We arrived at the party a couple hours late, but it was fine. We got to eat lots of naughty foodses like cookies and pizza and everyone thought our costumes were pretty awesome.

20131028-104417.jpg

 

It quickly turned from a Halloween party into a world-series watch party, but that’s ok. Some of my favorite crossfit people were there and it was fantastic!!!

Mom made some mummy cookies except they turned to ghost cookies because piping wasn’t going well. I think they’re super cute  as ghosts. lol

20131028-104431.jpg

Halloween is Thursday! WEEEE!!! Are you dressing up? More than once?!

20131028-104502.jpg

2 thoughts on “Halloweeeeeen!

  1. njpaleo October 28, 2013 / 8:11 pm

    Cute Halloween costumes!!!! Love them! Your food always looks so good, and I loooove guacamole. Those pumpkins are priceless! Burpees are scary!

  2. polkadotrunner October 30, 2013 / 9:01 am

    You make one hot Babe the Blue Ox!! LOVE IT! 🙂

Leave a Reply

