De Quervain’s tenosynovitis

OMG I think this might be the longest I’ve ever gone without blogging since I started almost 3 years ago. Ohwell, I’ve been kindof busy. The company I work for has shut its office down and moved everyone to start working from home instead of in the office (and yes, this means I am in sweatpants exactly 63 times more than I used to be).

20131205-115059.jpg

Goodbye building.

Brad and I went to Omaha for Thanksgiving and I got the meet his brother and his wife and their two girls. It was SUPER fun! Turkey Day there is my new favorite. They all work as a team to make the food (everyone has their assigned dishes) and then they all dress up to eat it!

20131205-115041.jpg

(Check out that epic beard!)

We got to watch the Nebraska-Iowa game the next day–only it was kindof a pretty depressing loss, tailgating and getting to see VIP parts of the stadium was really cool.

20131205-115111.jpg

That’s his brother. They are so much alike it’s hilarious!!  Here is the ridiculously massive stadium:20131205-115120.jpg

I don’t have many pics on my phone from that long weekend, but I certainly captured a few of their dogs. Here’s Ivan:20131205-115136.jpg

And Bailey:20131205-115146.jpg

And here is one of a bunch of wild turkeys that were romping through their neighborhood. Bahaha!20131205-115202.jpg

Ok, now to get down to the title of this blog post. De Quervain’s tenosynovitis is something that I am dealing with right now that is causing a lot of pain in my wrist. I’ve been dealing with it since mid October… so two whole months now. I took about 5 days off from working out because of Thanksgiving, and I expected my wrist to improve a lot during that time, but it actually got worse. Kara from crossfit works at an orthopedic place where they do hand surgery and stuff all the time, and after some deliberation (finances and whatnot) she finally persuaded me to see the doctor she works for–who happened to be working out at crossfit that night. I talked to him, and he diagnosed me immediately with dequervain’s. I went to his office the very next day and got some x-rays.20131205-115225.jpg

See that little dot in my thumb??? Did you know your thumb and pinky have “knee caps”?

I then had some options. I could do “therapy”.Ugh, the last time I opted for that (with my peroneal tendon), I spent $600 and was still in pain. My other option was a shot. I’m not sure exactly what was in there, but it had steroids. It was a bit painful, and we heard a pop when he was injecting it, which is supposedly a good thing. He assured me it was scar tissues breaking from the pressure of the injection. There was a some burning and all, but injections don’t really bother me too much. I had to look away after a few seconds on this one. Seeing a needle in my wrist where I was already experiencing a lot of pain and swelling was a bit much, so I closed my eyes. It’s supposed to kick in in about 3-7 days.

He also told me a splint would help a lot to immobilize and give my wrist a chance to recover. So I got fitted for one…. and it was going to cost me $276. Um…. no thanks, I can’t afford that. My $500 deductible hasn’t even been touched this year and It’s December. El oh el. So I went ahead and grabbed a similar splint from the pharmacy across the street for $30.00 🙂

20131205-115243.jpg

It even said “De Quervain’s tenosynovitis” on the box. So, yeah. I saved $247. I win.

I can’t leave you without some food pics! Here is one of PaleOMG banana bread (later made into french toast).

20131205-115313.jpg

And my current favorite zoodles dish.20131205-115322.jpgHappy Thursday! I’ll hopefully post more regularly, haha!

(P.S. two years ago today I was PR’ing my marathon time in Dallas!)

4 thoughts on “De Quervain’s tenosynovitis

  1. jh December 6, 2013 / 7:21 am

    BOOOO to the wrist pain!! I have a similar thing going on right now but don’t want to see a regular doc and it’s only been a week and a half so just taking it easy.. eek!! Mine wa cause during a failed squat clean.. got stuck in the hole and bailed funky and the bar bent both my wrist backwards a bit much.. OW.

    I hope yours heals quickly!!!!

    • fabulousinfayetteville December 8, 2013 / 9:04 pm

      Yes I usually wait it out and pain works itself away, but this one was just different–kept getting worse and worse so just keep an eye on it and if something hurts than find an alternate movement 🙂 good luck!!!

  2. Ryan S. February 7, 2016 / 1:11 pm

    I had the exact problem. After 6 months and three injections with no relief-it actually got worse. My thumb would lock up!

    I opted for surgery 😦 my doctor told me it was one of the worst cases he’s ever seen! Basically my only option was surgery. It’s only been three day since surgery (I can’t move it yet, but looking forward to getting back to lifting.

    • fabulousinfayetteville February 7, 2016 / 1:13 pm

      I finally got over mine with about 4 visits to a very aggressive ART practitioner! I had a giant knot on my wrist and now it’s 100% gone like magic as if nothing has ever happened!!!

      I will add, though, that even with 4 visits it still took at least 2 months for the pain to subside completely and it took another 4 months or so for the knot to go away. (it actually got bigger at first!)

Leave a Reply

