Update!

I’m still alive! 🙂 Stinking at updating my blog.

I’ve been freelancing, though! And I even worked for JUNK Brands for a few months designing custom headbands. I enjoyed it a lot, but it only paid $11/hour full time (no overtime eligibility) so I left to find something that I can live on a little easier while I freelance in the mean time.

 

Being a grown up is hard .

Fun things that have happened since the last time I blogged:

IMG_0894

Learned how to lift with Klokov.

IMG_0943

Shishkabobs!

I did a four-person team powerlifting competition.

IMG_1188

We would have gotten a free trip to California if we’d won, but he we ended up in third. But we DID win the max-lift workout. I PR’ed my power clean at 210#!

IMG_1196

I had to do a behind the head ball toss, though, and came in dead last. In fact, we all ranked pretty low in our “specialty movements”. Tell me how a power clean and a behind the head ball toss are alike, again???

 

And then there was the Heart of America Team affiliate crossfit competition in Springfield, MO!

IMG_1346

 

LOVE this comp! I’ve been lucky enough to be on a team for it every year since I started crossfit. It’s a 6-person team competition over a three-day period. Pretty awesome gig.

IMG_1425.JPG

OH! And then on Halloween we all dressed up like American Gladiators at crossfit. It was fun! We had to do a workout with thrusters pull-ups and running, so we ran with the jousting sticks 🙂

IMG_1375.JPG

 

And lastly, I have to talk about this fat loss nutrition thing that I have been doing. You get to eat 6 “meals” a day–one every 3 hours. I say “meals” because some of them are just protein powder. No carbs after 2:00. No gluten. No dairy. No sugar–the closest I come to sugar is berries at breakfast and whatever it is that they put in protein powders to make them sweet.

One cheat meal a week (complete with dessert). I’m usually hungry, though. I could sit down right now and eat an entire can of nuts. We’ve been going for two weeks, but I haven’t seen any drastic changes. I feel pretty good and my workouts aren’t suffering, but I haven’t lost any weight. I’m not sure that I will lose any, because I’m gaining muscle and losing fat at the same time.

I back squatted 300lbs again for the first time since August. AND I’ve been getting more consistent on my ring muscle ups. AND I jerked 200lbs for the first time since June! So who knows what’s going on. I feel motivated to try and keep sticking with it. At least until Thanksgiving 🙂 Then maybe I’ll squeeze a few more weeks in before Christmas and then crack down again in the new year. We’ll see! I will keep my blog updated–I’m hoping to post some awesome before/after photos one day!

Leave a Reply

