15.2 and a new grocery store!

Last week was just ROUGH. I’ll talk about Natural Grocers first.

I got invited to this grand opening brunch for influential people. I got to introduce myself as a blogger among other more “legit” people like local product vendors, fitness center owners, and wellness practitioners. Whoops!

I think I *do* influence some people food wise and health wise, but I don’t think my spectrum is really all that broad. But it was still really exciting to be invited, so I went. I try not to ever say no to free food. Plus it’s paleo.

The weird thing was that they didn’t explain to us what anything we were eating was.

I was really mad at myself for not bringing my water bottle because all they gave us to drink was about 3 tablespoons of green tea. And I’m not sure what this yogurt concotion was, but it tasted very dairy-free. Chalky and really tart. Not my fave.

I’m just now realizing that the menu is written on the paper in the background of my plate! haha look:

My frittata has a worried look on it’s face.

It was pretty tasty, but I was STARVING and this was an extremely insufficient amount of food.

They gave everyone a $15 gift card but when I went to use mine it had fallen out of my pocket. Fail. Also, I got SUPER excited when I found this bar:

Turns out it had like 2 protein and 50 carbs and like 80 fat. lol

Just kidding, but it wasn’t good macros at all. In my opinion the best “macro” friendly bar to help balance out and otherwise normal diet would have no more than 7 grams of fat, no ore than 20 carbs and no less than 18 protein.

Soooooo 15.2 was aawful. I hated it last year and I hate it again this year. Lemme preface by saying that I improved my score. A lot. Without even making it to a new 3 minute threshold.  Here’s the WOD:

From 0:00-3:00

2 rounds of:

10 overhead squats (95 / 65 lb.)

10 chest-to-bar pull-ups

From 3:00-6:00

2 rounds of:

12 overhead squats (95 / 65 lb.)

12 chest-to-bar pull-ups

From 6:00-9:00

2 rounds of:

14 overhead squats (95 / 65 lb.)

14 chest-to-bar pull-ups

Etc., following same pattern until you fail to complete both rounds

Last year my score was 116. Which mean I somehow made it to the 14’s and was so dead that I only did half of the reps in that round.

This time I made it there again, but fell three reps short of progressing into the round of 16’s, giving me a score of 141.

At first I was really excited about my score and happy that I had managed to improve so much  since last year. But then I saw scores coming in and I felt super defeated. Like 90% of the other people I know made it to the 16’s, so it was a little disheartening to not be part of those athletes.

 

 

I only did it once last year because my hand ripped. This time my hands felt fine, so I made one final attempt on Monday night. I started my second set of 14 overhead squats with one minute left. At that moment I knew I wouldn’t make it to the 16’s. I was right. I was three reps short of the number I got on Friday.

If i could  have gotten three more reps then I would have gotten to the 16’s and probably gotten like 40 more reps. Teams are scored by reps as a team, and not by individual ranking. So I ran the numbers and I figured out that I was responsible for at least a three-spot drop in the team rankings for that week. Playing the numbers game is bad idea, but I think that overall it won’t matter over the course of the entire open. Unless for some reason we are only about 45-55 reps from going to regionals. And it doesn’t currently look like that is a possibility, so I will try not to carry any guilt on my shoulders.

Now it’s week 3 and 15.3 is underway. I was pretty nervous when they first announced what it was. SEVEN muscle ups!? I have never attempted to do seven muscle ups in one chunk before. I’ve been strangely calm this week though. So we will see….

 

 

Leave a Reply

