15.4

Hanstand Pushups and cleans.

8-minute AMRAP:
3 handstand push-ups
3 cleans
6 handstand push-ups
3 cleans
9 handstand push-ups
3 cleans
12 handstand push-ups
6 cleans
15 handstand push-ups
6 cleans
18 handstand push-ups
6 cleans
21 handstand push-ups
9 cleans
Etc., following same pattern

M 185 lb.  F 125 lb.

Holy gymnastics, Dave Castro! Every workout so far in this open has been based on a gymnastics movement.

WOD1: mostly about toes to bar

WOD2: mostly about pull-ups

WOD3: mostly about ring muscle ups

WOD4: mostly about hand stand push-ups

Some of us have bodies that unfortnuately weigh a lot, and it sure would be nice to have the chance to excel with some heavy barbells. Like the deadlift workout from last year. Please?!

I somehow managed to avoid having my picture taken this week. Which is impressive because I did the workout twice. but it’s a good thing. Let’s just say i’m not so photogenic when I’m upside down.

Exhibit A:

1002276_549575301766366_776745725_n

We can go ahead and pretend these are my photos from this week even though they are super old. Here’s my makeshift clean picture:

10629817_769717843085443_8797548269901498274_n

Slightly newer, but still pretty old 🙂

Anyways…

my experience with this workout

The first time I did this workout, I was told going into it that most of the competitive athletes in our box were having to break their hand stand pushups into sets of three the whole way through. Since I know that movement is something that when I gas out on I’m done, I decided to borrow the strategy.

My goal was 75 reps.

By the time I made it to the round of 9 I was already getting my first no-rep. Shoot! This workout standard was weird. Who does hand stand pushups with their feet flexed and holding at the top? I think that discouraged me, because I took a LOT of pretty long breaks after that. I was actually floored to find out that I had still managed to get a score of 76, beating my goal by one rep!

I knew I could do better, so I decided to recover for a few days and make a final attempt on Monday before the score submissions closed.

I ended up suffering a 4-hour long coughing attack and some serious allergy issues. I had made up my mind by Monday morning that I wouldn’t do it, but that I would still go to the gym on the rest day to cheer on my teammate. Then I went back and forth all afternoon that maybe I was feeling up for it after all. I was still torn, though.

When I got to the box that evening, there were a TON of people there doing the same thing! I watched a few heats of people making their final attempts and getting more reps, so of COURSE I had to do it again. And our box owner volunteered to judge for me.

The whole way through, he kept reminding me to be sharp instead of powerful and to kick away form the wall, which is my favorite tip to give people. It makes you use your hips to their full potential all the way up the, wall and is an especially useful cue when attempting deficit hand stand push ups. Which is what this workout felt like by the second round.

I ended up with TWELVE more reps and a final score of 88 reps! I remember when I passed the point i had made it to before with almost a whole minute left. My final handstand pushups were ugly and forced and included at least one no-rep, but I made it back to the bar and just started cleaning like crazy. I got four reps in before I watched the clock roll over to 8:00.

What a glorious feeling. This is the first time this open I have been able to completely smash a previous score. I was floored! I was able to gain (lose?) over 100 points to my leaderboard position for the week and I think I even moved up a few spots from last week. I don’t remember where I was, but if the open ended right now then I would be sitting 65 spots higher than I was last year. Although I dropped about 50 spots from the previous year, but whatever. The pool of athletes is definitely growing!

15.5 Is going to be announced in 3 hours!

I am thinking it will be a chipper since we haven’t really had one yet. With rowing, thrusters, and who knows what else. Please just make something heavy and leave off the gymnastics. What else is left? I guess a kettle bell swing and a rope climb? And a bar muscle up. And the ever-lovable burpees and box jumps. And burpee box jumps. More bodyweight stuff, basically. No thank you. Box life magazine says burpee bar muscle ups! Why not, we’ve done every other gymnastics movement under the sun.

Oh, I almost forgot pistols! I’d actually really like to see those. And I wouldn’t mind bar muscle ups that much either because it’s the gymnastic movement that I’ve shown the most improvement on this year. Aside from ring muscle ups, which I couldn’t even do before…

 

IM SO READY FOR THE OPEN TO BE OVER!!!! YAYYYYY!

2 thoughts on “15.4

  1. Jennifer March 27, 2015 / 7:38 am

    AMAZING score!!! girl, that’s awesome. I loved this workout, even though that’s pretty close to my max clean (though I learned this week I can power clean 125!!), I love hspu. They’re not super-strong.. I died early; but happy with my 29 reps 🙂

    • fabulousinfayetteville March 27, 2015 / 10:47 am

      My favorite part about this workout was that it wasn’t just about lungs! it was about a skill. I actually think it might have been my favorite open workout this year–it really showed me that I’ve improved a lot over the past year at hand stand push ups. I’ve only started RX’ing them in workouts a little over a year ago!

Leave a Reply

