Renaissance Periodization

So… I  got the new Nike Retcon color way!!! I ❤ them. I ordered them from nike.com and they pretty much came overnight. The next day I got a shipping email and then around 5:20PM I got a notification that they had been delivered! I for sure thought that was a mistake, but when I got home I was surprised by a box of shoesssss!

We spent all day Saturday being crossfit judges for Wod War III at our box.  It was fun but exhausting!

So now let’t talk about this new diet. I hate that word. Let’s call it a new eating plan? I’ve been counting macros for almost a year, and it’s a lot of work. I don’t do it on the weekends because I like breaks. So now I’m taking it up a notch and making it even more cumbersome. lol ugh. So Renaissance Periodization (RP) is where you still kinda track macros but you rearrange them in your day according to what time your workout is. Also how hard your workout is matters. And if it’s a rest day you have even a different eating plan.

So since I work out in the evenings during the week, the morning on Saturday, and mid day on sunday, and I run once in the morning during the week either on Wednesday, Thursday or Friday, so then literally every single day will be different. But a “moderate” day with no morning workout will probably be my simplest go-to day.

You can read a little more about RP here. And find templates to purchase for yourself here.

Yesterday was day 1! And it was a moderate day with an evening workout.

The morning started off with no carbs.

This was brad’s go-to breakfast during the whole30. I’m not used to going so low carb in the mornings–we usually always have fruit– but gotta save my carbs for workout-time!

The next meal occurs 3-5 hours later. And also has no carbs. Ouch.

Then the next meal comes 1-3 hours before the workout. I was DYING (super famished) at this point  so I actually ate most of the turkey before I took this photo. It was 4 0z.

Then during the workout you get to drink your calories. Which is weird, but it works. Here is my 25 g protein shake and 30 g high glycemic of carbs.

My gut instinct is is to not eat regular sugar, so I am going to try to stick to actual fruit juice for now. Until I get too poor for afford it…

DINNER! OMG, carbs. This is supposed to be eaten 40 minutes after workout.

 I found out later that I can have white rice at this meal since it’s still kinda in the workout window. Which is good, because brown rice pretty much sucks. It’s all hard and chewy and white rice is all fluffy and buttery soft. So unfair.

Then there’s the bedtime meal:

This is my highest calorie meal of the day. Which is a little sad, but ok. It was only 160 grams of carbs and for a moderate day, I think that might actually be a bit low.

I accidentally made the casein pudding a little thin, but it totally tastes like a jello pudding snack pack! You just whisk in some hot water an then set it in the fridge for ~30 minutes.

Little things are kinda crazy though. I have had to weigh everything! The feta in the salad, the dressing, the almond butter, the sweet potato, I even weighed the greens!!! Who am I?!  

Things I didn’t really measure but could have: the banana, the rice (I measured it), the protein powders (although I used the scoop and measured with that and tracked them correctly).

This is SO OCD. I am not liking that part of it, but I am hoping that eventually I will be able to follow RP without spending two hours fidgeting with myfitnesspal trying to figure out how much of what to eat and when to eat it.

But today is day 2…

Here are the things I like about it so far:

  • I get to drink carbs during my workout.
  • Abundance of Carbs at dinner (except on rest days or weekends)
  • I get to have a bedtime snack so I don’t go to bed hungry.

I bought a new pan so I can sauté  veggies without any fat. Whoop! what is my life about?

Oh, and also I took some before photos. I look fine from the front which is cool because I see myself that way all the time. But then I had Brad take a photo of my back and then I looked at it and OMG! I was like kinda accepting my body until I saw that photo. Here’s to hoping that lots of planning ahead, eating meals without carbs and lots of scale use makes my back look less gross.

Maybe if every time I feel like cracking down and eating carbs I can just pull up that photo 😦

 

Leave a Reply

