Renaissance Periodization and the Holidays

I’m bad at being hungry. Like… a whole lot worse at it than most people. If my stomach is growling I am only capable of making this face:

enhanced-buzz-32550-1377875028-4

Which means I’m really not a very good dieter/cutter. So this RP cut has got me pretty down. Now don’t get me wrong, so far every weekend has either been Thanksgiving epic cheat weekend, Christmas Party 1, or Christmas Party 2. I guess the bright side is that I work hard all week to lose a lb and then spend all weekend gaining it back and therefore come out even instead of gaining a ton of weight over the holidays. So there’s that.

My lifts are super sucky though. Jerks, snatches, squats. You name it, and I can’t touch my PR. Even if I drink an insane amount of lemonade beforehand. I tried.

I want an Renaissance Periodization diet cookbook so bad! I’ve heard that one is in the works, but we’ll see. Here are some of my favorite meals while sticking to RP (these are non-rest day meals! Because I refuse to post a picture of salmon and green beans and call it a “favorite”.)

taco/rice boats:

IMG_3419

(Great use for ground meat!)

Carefully calculated RP chili with fat free cheese:

IMG_3460 2

Shrimp with tomatoes on angel hair pasta! OMG this is my current obsession. I love shrimp so much but have only eaten it sparingly since my crazy allergic reaction incident a few years ago.IMG_3607

Best “diet” meal ever. Totally worth it.

And then last but not least–my last meal, the casein protein banana pudding with almond butter:

IMG_3462 2

Which makes going to bed hungry a whole lot less painful. I’m at a point where I even eat it like this on rest days. To make casein pudding you need hot tap water and a whisk: slowly add the water to the powder while whisking it until it forms a pudding-like consistency. Then add toppings (if you are allowed to have them) and set in the fridge for 30 minutes.

I don’t like RP’s rest day templates–they are WAY too low carb. Like today–I am supposed to be eating 75 grams of carbs today and that’s all. And I’m pretty sure my calorie count is supposed to be around 1400 calories for today– a rest day on Cut 1.

Uh, no. Nope. UH-uh. No thanks. Nah. Naw. Nope. No.

So the reason RP works for a lot of people is probably because the calorie count is so insanely low. I’ve calculated my calories from the templates and all of the cutting days are at or below my calculated BMR calorie needs.

I might go back to “flexible dieting with an emphasis on nutrient timing.” I made that up. But it sounds a lot easier than entering the 11th circle of hell in the form of hunger pangs.

I’m so hungry as I write this even. See how bad I am at it? Off to eat my low carb salad!

tumblr_mx93gmyqze1shf8zxo1_500

3 thoughts on “Renaissance Periodization and the Holidays

  1. K March 19, 2016 / 7:31 pm

    I know this post is really old, but I’m trying to do some RP research and so far everyone is very cultish about it. They’re all like “I lost 30 lbs of fat and put 150lbs on my squat in 3 days!!!111!!!” Thanks for the honest info.

  2. Jenn August 7, 2016 / 12:38 am

    That banana casein pudding sounds amaaaaaaaaziiiing. Recipe? :oD

    • fabulousinfayetteville August 25, 2016 / 9:14 am

      just add water a little bit at a time while stirring with a whisk or fork until its pretty thick and creamy and then let it set up in the fridge. it will get firm and be very pudding like! works best with hot or warm water so that the powder dissolves to a nice creamy consistency 🙂

Leave a Reply

