Christmas 2015

Because I’ll never get tired of telling this story 🙂

I had such an amazing Christmas break. I’m calling it a break because I used a bunch of vacation days. Between that and the Holidays I was off work for a good chunk of time. I got everything I could have ever asked for for Christmas and then some. I feel so spoiled and loved and blessed.

IMG_3706 IMG_3711 IMG_3707

I made a lot of poor nutrition choices, but it was worth it. No regrets.

On Christmas Eve some of my family came in town and we went to dinner at Ella’s for their Holiday Buffet. Then afterwards we drove out to this crazy house that had billions of lights and inflatable silliness and drank hot chocolate and walked around.

IMG_3743

It was so cheesy but still fun!

For Christmas Brad spoiled me with way too many gifts. Including shoes that I had been eyeing, the Renaissance Woman e-book (he had it printed and bound and it looks incredible!). And a wallet (he picked out the cutest kate spade wallet!!!) and barbell collars, lulu gift card, etc. etc. etc. And the last gift I opened from him was a one-night getaway to Big Cedar! Just the two of us!!! How cute is that?! We never go anywhere unless its to do crossfit competitions or visit people so going somewhere just the two of us was SUPER thoughtful. I teared up. Anyone would!

The next day Brad noticed that a house has just been listed for sale in a neighborhood that we were both in love with that is near our crossfit box. We got a realtor friend to show it to us and it was INCREDIBLE! So we made an offer. And it was accepted!!! So now we are just waiting for financing! ❤ OMG we’re buying a house!

IMG_3795

So on Tuesday we headed to Branson. We had some time to kill so we decided to go to the Branson Landing. They were pumping water out from under it because it had recently flooded pretty bad, but the stores were all fine. I took advantage of the Victoria’s Secret semi-annual sale.

Then we went and checked in to our cottage.

IMG_3808

And ordered wine and champagne to celebrate our new house! Weeeeeee!

And how cute is this cottage?


IMG_3747Ordering romantic beverages via room service.
IMG_3748

We had dinner reservations at Devil’s Pool at 6:00, so we got dressed up and had some time to kill so we decided to walk around and look at the christmas lights.

IMG_3754 IMG_3750

Then when we were finally nice and cold and hungry we settled in to some hot chili.

IMG_3759

OMG and it blew my mind. Best chili ever, I need the recipe!

He ordered the brisket and I got crawfish gumbo.

IMG_3760

And you can see my delicious winter cinnamon something or other sangria in the photo of the chili. That drink was perfect!

After dinner, we ordered a chocolate mousse cake to go to take back to the room and enjoy with our champagne. Our cottage was literally right next to the restaurant so it was super convenient! We realized we had no utensils so he sent me back to get some while he started the fire.

IMG_3807

When I came back he had turned off the lights and pulled the bench up to the fire and poured the champagne. We sat down and he started telling me how much fun he has with me and how in love with me he is and how happy he is and I just wanted to butt in and say “Me TOOOO!” but I didn’t want to interrupt. (I’d like to add that sweet speeches things like that aren’t outside of the norm for him so I definintely wasn’t ready for what was coming.)

Then he said “hold on” and took my drink and set it down. And then he got on one knee and said “Lisa, will you marry me?”

And he totally had a ring but it only barely caught a glimpse of it before I was jumping on top of him and squeaking and asking if he was serious. We both cried a little and then he immediately came clean to me about all the little fibs he had to tell me to keep everything a secret. The ring shopping, lunch with my dad the day before, etc.

IMG_3761

I’m over the moon.

I get to keep him!!! Forever!!!!

We spent a pretty good chunk of time calling people. We probably waited 2 hours before we finally got to dive into that mousse cake 😉

We didn’t take any pictures of ourselves (other than my hand) until the next day. lol, whoops.

The next morning we enjoyed had an epic breakfast buffet at Devil’s pool (*endless bacon*), went to the new american history museum that is at Top of the Rock, and then drove back home to meet with the Mortgage guy to talk about financing.

IMG_3762

OMG we’re buying a house! And getting married! And adulting SO hard!

IMG_3763

OMG its so pretty. I can’t even. He designed it himself! I can’t wait to marry him! I’m overwhelmed and so insanely happy.

5 thoughts on “Christmas 2015

  1. Di January 5, 2016 / 1:55 pm

    Congrats!!! So many exciting things to come for 2016!

  2. polkadotrunner January 6, 2016 / 10:44 am

    Congrats!!! I am SO SO happy for you!! 💜😉💚

  3. amberbusyboldblessed January 7, 2016 / 7:56 am

    Yay!!!! What a wonderful Christmas! Congrats on your engagement 🙂 Good luck with the house stuff. Such an exciting time!

Leave a Reply

