16.2 – one and done!!!

I haven’t “one-and-done’d” an open workout in a long time. And I never ever would that thought that I would decide to do that with this one (or this year at all!), but I did!!!

You can read the details here, but basically this is the WOD:

Beginning on a 4-minute clock, complete as many reps as possible of:
25 toes-to-bars
50 double-unders
15 squat cleans, 135 / 85 lb.

If completed before 4 minutes, add 4 minutes to the clock and proceed to:
25 toes-to-bars
50 double-unders
13 squat cleans, 185 / 115 lb.

If completed before 8 minutes, add 4 minutes to the clock and proceed to:
25 toes-to-bars
50 double-unders
11 squat cleans, 225 / 145 lb.

If completed before 12 minutes, add 4 minutes to the clock and proceed to:
25 toes-to-bars
50 double-unders
9 squat cleans, 275 / 175 lb.

If completed before 16 minutes, add 4 minutes to the clock and proceed to:
25 toes-to-bars
50 double-unders
7 squat cleans, 315 / 205 lb.

Stop at 20 minutes.

 

Ha. I thought to myself when I saw this: “If I could make it to the 175b barbell and get at least one rep at that weight, that would probably significantly separate me from the ladies who are good enough to get that far but not quite able to lift that much weight! This would be the ultimate way I could play to my strengths. Literally.”

So I set that as my ultimate goal, and my “realistic” goal would be to get over halfway through those 145lb cleans.

Welp. I DID IT!!! I was able to get all the way through to round 4. I lifted that last 145b clean with about 10 seconds to spare! lol. I was DYING. I almost didn’t want it to count because I knew I’d have to march my crying/drooling/sweaty butt back over the to the rig for 25 more toes to bar.

toestobars

(this picture is from like three weeks ago! lol I’m just a faker, but I managed not to have any pics taken of me this week.)

I took a little break and then tried to do a big set. That didn’t work. So then I just did a few sets of 2-3 reps and then went to singles. The whole gym was gathered around me cheering me on, which felt incredible! I had started the workout with a group but was the only person who made it this far.

After about a century of ugly toe to bar singles, I stepped up to the jump rope to attempt my 50 double unders. I had done every round unbroken up to this point, but I felt like I was holding in vomit and trying not to pass out so I broke about halfway through and had a little staring contest with the floor. I could hear Nathan telling me that I needed ONE clean and I remembered my “ultimate” goal. So I hurried through the rest of the double unders.

I approached the bar with a little under 1 minute left on the clock. I could barely walk at this point so cleaning 175lbs seemed seriously daunting. So I gathered myself for a moment and made an attempt…

cleanlol

(again, this photo is not from this workout! lol)

SUCCESS! It was so ugly and it felt like I was lifting a car. I had hit my ultimate goal at that moment and couldn’t see the clock because I was all blurry-eyed, but people began yelling for me to lift it again. SO I DID! Then I realized I still had about 15 seconds. So I quickly made a third attempt… and failed. But man. TWO cleans at 175.

I wanted to re-do it but then I thought about what a bad idea it wad for me to do 100 more toes to bar just to try to get to do more ugly-ass heavy cleans. My traps were killing me… so I talked myself out of repeating it.

On Monday night, I was tempted… but I decided against it. I didn’t want to end up hurting myself or needing more recovery time or anything. Gross.

12802782_1059043717486186_1945764595029656701_n

 

16.3 was announced yesterday! I’ll be attempting it tonight. 10 light snatches and 3 bar muscle ups for 7 minutes. I’m pretty excited. I have worked my tail off at bar muscle ups for the past year or two, so I am super ready to try this and see how it goes!!! YAY!

I still hate the open though. I am gonna be SO freaking happy once it’s over 🙂

Have a fabulous weekend!!!

 

(p.s. I no longer technically live in Fayetteville… but I don’t have any ideas for renaming my blog yet. We’ll see…. Nervous in Northwest Arkansas? Sleepy in Springdale?)

4 thoughts on “16.2 – one and done!!!

  1. Amber March 12, 2016 / 2:58 pm

    Wow! Congrats! I did the worst dubs of my life… twice! I don’t know why, but I just couldn’t seem to get into a rhythm with them. My goal was to go one squat clean… ONE. And I failed. I got through 46 of the dubs and the 4 minutes were up. I was seriously disappointed.

    16.3 wasn’t really anything exciting. I did my 10 reps, attempted a MU for the first time ever and couldn’t get it. I finished the workout with C2B pull ups. I’m really hoping 16.4 is something that I can actually do!

    • fabulousinfayetteville March 15, 2016 / 9:21 am

      Aw I’m sure it will be! I am hoping these bar muscle ups sufficed as ring muscle ups and that they’ll just go ahead and keep em out of the open 😉

  2. Chris March 29, 2016 / 6:59 pm

    Dude! Holy crap you’re awesome! You set an ambitious goal… and you not only met it but EXCEEDED it! Well done! Make sure you get proper photos of your badassery next time! =)

Leave a Reply

