16.3 Blunder and Comeback!

I had to do this one twice. I technically did it once, because the first time I did it, I used the wrong weight!

Which is actually pretty funny.

16.3:

7 min AMRAP

10 snatches (75/55)

3 Bar Muscle Ups

Short and sweet! And just the right amount of bar muscle ups that I could still do them unbroken every round. I have a weird scabby spot on my left hip, though.

So the first time I did it, I was DYING. My lungs, my grip, I was toasted and I got 88 reps. I was pretty happy with that, to be honest. 5 minutes later I was gazing at my bar and realized I had put 15’s on it instead of 10’s which means I did 65 lbs instead of 55. CRAP! No wonder!!! My forearms were beyond smoked!

snatch163

I’ve never done that in an open workout! Used the wrong weight?! Everyone gave me crap about it last night when I went to redo it.

bmu163

I was really worried that I might get a worse score with less weight, but thank goodness I didn’t! I almost got an entire round better! 100 reps. That darn 10th snatch didn’t happen in time. But I am SUPER happy!!! Like SUUUUUPER duper happy!

I’m a desk jobber/recreational crossfitter who specializes in heavy lifting so 100 reps in this workout is BOMB.

As much as I appreciate success in the open, I have to remember that it’s not the ultimate test. It’s just a 5-week period between winter and spring when a bunch of people with the same hobby do the same workouts.

I wrote this as a comment on facebook, but I think I articulated it nicely so I’ll post it here too:

It’s so hard during the open not to put all of your self-worth as an athlete into your performance in these few workouts. I’m guilty of it for sure. It’s important just to do your best and be okay with that and not worry about how the rankings shake out. I’m commenting this on your post, but really I’m telling it to myself.

 

Only two more of these suckers left! Not sure what they’ll be… we have yet to see a repeat WOD, so I think one of them might be that. And we also have yet to see a chipper. There are a lot of movements left, so a chipper seems like it’s on the docket.

Movements we usually see that we haven’t seen:

  • thruster
  • box jump
  • shoulder to overhead
  • row
  • ring muscle up
  • wall ball
  • handstand push up?

potential wild card movements?

  • kettlebell swing
  • pistol
  • hand stand walk
  • running. is running a thing?

So yeah. Maybe a chipper made from about 5-6 of the above. Ooooooh! What if it’s in a chipper “for time”? So maybe we’ll keep to basic movements.

Here’s my guess for 16.4:

Chipper for time:

30 box jumps

30 wall balls

30 calories rowed

30 hand stand pushups

30 thrusters

 

Hmmm…. gross. I would kinda hate that.

HAVE MAGICAL WEEK!

2 thoughts on “16.3 Blunder and Comeback!

  1. amberbusyboldblessed March 15, 2016 / 11:34 am

    I’m forecasting a repeat of 15.5… WOOF.

    • fabulousinfayetteville March 15, 2016 / 11:35 am

      Yuck! But i think that is a definite possibility! I am just in denial 🙂 lol

Leave a Reply

