16.4 – The Best Open Experience EVER!

I feel like last night was my Birthday party or something, for real! Taylor even came up here from Conway. She could not have picked a better week to have a super fun Monday night with us as the first overnight guest in our new house 🙂

The Workout: 16.4

CrossFit Games Open Workout 16.4

13-min. AMRAP:

55 deadlifts (225/155)

55 wall-ball shots (20/14)

55-calorie row

55 handstand push-ups

This one was a doozie! I made my first attempt Friday night. I flew through the first three movements and was hopping off the rower at 7:41 which left me over 5 minutes to get through the hand stand push ups.

I did a set of 8. Did a second set of 8. Ugh. Fatigue set in so I slowed down to sets of 5. then suddenly I was eeking out sets of 3 and 2. Then time was up. Yuck. My score? 219 reps–I was ONE rep away from getting back  to the deadlifts! Damn it.

So then Monday night I was ready for my second go at it! I  was so nervous I put one of my knee sleeves on inside out.

IMG_0053
Photos for this post courtesy of Taylor and her iphone 🙂

Bro tip: crappy bouncy plates for this one are lovely for touch & go’s. What are these? Recycled tires?

I decided to break things up the exact same way I did on Friday because I wanted to get the same split. 7:41 was an AWESOME split! Only things were hurting a bit more this time. I felt some shakiness from my hamstrings during the deads and the wallballs seemed a little bit more taxing this time.

IMG_0056

I can’t help but get super nervous during open workouts. I was worried that my split would be worse, but I had a new plan of action for my hand stand pushups: sets of 5 the whole way!

IMG_0057

I jumped on the rower and the damper was set a bit lower than I usually have it, but I didn’t care. I figured why not try it and see if it matters.

I think it actually was a little less taxing and I believe I was just as fast! I was stepping out of the rower at 7:40–exactly one second faster than Friday. Feeling pretty dang consistent and determined at this point.

IMG_0058

I did sets of 5. I had the same split as I did Friday, but people were telling me I should take my time. So I tried to shake out for a second between sets, but I knew I had to keep at it in order to finish them and get back to the deadlifts.

Julie was judging for me, and she kept letting me know I was on pace and how many I had left, which really helped me mentally. Especially since she mainly had good news for me–20 left—15 left… etc.

IMG_0060

And she said “you’re gonna finish these last reps and then you’re gonna turn around and start deadlifting like crazy!”

It made me so excited! I had no idea what the clock was saying, but she definitely made me think it was possible, so I was super pumped. On my last set of 5 I had to break it into 4 and 1. But then I turned my happy butt around and grabbed that deadlift bar (sans weight belt) and just started pulling my heart out!

My wonderful fiance was going alongside me (and PR-ing his attempt as well) and he stopped his workout and turned towards me and went “F*CK YEAH!” Because he knew I was smashing my goal ❤ I get to marry him in exactly 7 months 🙂

Then I think someone said I had 30 seconds and my brain was like “30 seconds? That’s so long!!!” So I set it down for a second. With every rep I knew I was passing 20-30 people on the leaderboard. So I picked it up and tried to keep going but then set it down one last time and picked it up for one more rep. 21 deads.

I scored 241! The first time I’ve ever had the top female score in my gym. Ever.

And then got a huge sweaty fiance hug. Highlight of my night week month. I would say year, but we’re gonna get married 😉

And then we ate fancy pizza with a bunch of awesome peeps from crossfit and maybe we went to Harp’s after that and bought Ben & Jerry’s ice cream. And then I got to hang out with Taylor and  ask her to be a bridesmaid and I stayed up way too late. #noregrets #iamletired #bestnightever #rpdietfail

4 down, and 1 to go!!!

4 thoughts on “16.4 – The Best Open Experience EVER!

  1. amberbusyboldblessed March 23, 2016 / 6:52 am

    Yay! That is so awesome. Congrats on your amazing score and such a wonderful night 😀

  2. kaitlynk March 29, 2016 / 4:36 pm

    Awesome job! That’s so impressive that you got back to the deadlifts! Me… I was on the rower for all of eternity (or so it felt like).

    • fabulousinfayetteville March 29, 2016 / 4:46 pm

      This WOD was literally all of my best movements in one workout! i fell apart on 16.5… haha

Leave a Reply

