16.5 The Worst Open Experience Ever…

To say that I hated the open this week would be an understatement.

14.5 is probably my least favorite workout of all time. I’m good at thrusters and pretty good at cardio. But I can’t think of any movement that I truly hate more than bar over burpees. But 16.5 IS….. 14.5. And here the stupid burpees are. AGAIN.

I improved by nearly a minute from 2 years ago, but this workout dropped me like crazy. I plummeted from 115th place in the region to 156th.

No photos from this one, so here are a few that were taken when I did this one two years ago:

I wasn’t able to help our team out this week and we ended up falling from 18th to 24th, putting us way out of the opportunity window to go to regionals as a team (they only take the top 15 from each region, even if the teams in your region make up the majority of the wordwide team leaderboard.

I’m such a negative nancy. I think I am just bummed because I just don’t really understand how I can dominate workouts like last week and then this week I give 110% again and it’s not even close to being enough. I just don’t get it.

Also I don’t remember hurting this bad last time. Nearly a week later and my arms still feel like someone tried to rip them off, then ran over them and injected them with poison. I thought I was going to have to do it twice to try to improve my score, but then god I didn’t. Other girls in my gym were at least a minute better than my score of 12:47, so it was pointless for me to try again.

Maybe next year we can stop doing burpees and start lifting heavy weights. Enough about that.

Let’s talk about my new favorite rest day dinner:

It’s basically the thing that we’ve been doing with shrimp and pasta, only instead of noodles we used zoodles! And also added a wedge of laughing cow cheese because why the hell not?

The bad thing about this dinner is pretty much the same thing that’s bad about all of the other dinners/meals while doing RP: they are over in like 5 bites.

I went on a post-open candy/pizza binge last weekend so I look and feel pretty terrible this week. Which is awesome because we are taking progress photos next week… the open is such a weird time to try to make progress with fat loss because workouts are all stupid.

Instead of working on skills and strength, during the open I’m too scared to rip my hands or overtrain my back or forearms so I’m trying to be all careful during my workouts. Doing little to no strength training and taking way too many extra rest days to ensure my best performance in each open wod and open re-do. So ridiculous. Glad it’s over!

Time to remember how crossfit was fun and why I do it in the first place.

The 6:30 class is so adorable!!! #swolemates #row

A post shared by Lisa (@lisa_stancil_payne) on

 

I’m 99.9% sure the main reason is to get to be around some really cool people.

3 thoughts on “16.5 The Worst Open Experience Ever…

  1. Michelle April 2, 2016 / 5:25 pm

    How are you feeling about the RP diet templates? I’ve had mine for a while , tried, and stopped doing them. I want to try again. I am so used to eating higher protein and carb macro plans (and flexible eating). This will be an adjustment.

    • fabulousinfayetteville April 3, 2016 / 9:01 pm

      Really? For me carbs and protein were a little lower but fat was MUCH lower (around 45-55 grams!) so yeah I am clocking about 300 calories less per day then when I was cutting with flexible dieting. If you have the chance, watch the webinar about the hunger templates (it’s on PR’s YouTube channel). Lately I’ve been trying to marry the hunger and performance templates together by doing things like eating less carbs and more protein and doubling some of my veggie portions. I think they’re good because they work, but I hate turning down social events and fun treats. So really I’m only doing them 85-90% of the time. But they’re working better for me than any other diet I’ve tried. And I feel like they’re doable for long term👍🏻

  2. fabulousinfayetteville April 3, 2016 / 9:04 pm

    I’d like to add that there is definitely a curve. I still track everything in myfitnesspal (thanks flexible dieting for that habit!) but it took me several weeks to get into the habit of meal timing and when and what to prep and not to forget my Intra workout supplies. (I work pretty far away from home and go straight I the gym from work so I have to bring three meals and a giant gym bag with me every day to work.) so yeah. All that took a while to get used to but now it feels normal.

Leave a Reply

