Olympic Weightlifting in the “&up” Class

So…. I am going back and forth over and over with the idea of competing in a local Olympic Weightlifting Meet on June 11th. I think it would be a blast, and a good new experience for me. BUT I really hate stuff that has weigh-ins. Strongman doesn’t really bother me because I am settled nicely into the “mid” weight class and would have to lose a LOT or gain a lot to change classes. So no stress there, I can totally just eat and drink my usual stuff if I compete in Strongman.

Weight Classes for Womens Olympic Weightlifting
I can’t help but notice that at ~170cm tall, I am a little too tall for any weight class.

 

But olympic weightlifting likes small ladies. I am in the “&up” class. Which means that I would lift against Holley Mangold if she showed up (lol). Definitely not someone I’d want to lift against. So I really need to cut 5-10 lbs to make sure that I can settle into an actual weight class. The thought of that is stressing me out. I’m reading lots of articles about cutting water weight and doing some extreme dieting and it sounds really awful. Especially since when I was really diligent with my RP cutting diet, I ended up losing a lot of strength and only a couple of pounds. I especially lost strength in my olympic lifts.

I’m only about 20% body fat, so really nothing I do diet-wise is going to make a bunch of weight come off of my body quickly. I think I am gunning for water weight. I have a little over 3 weeks to make magic happen. Which is my own fault.

I’ve actually come within half a pound of my desired weight class multiple times this year whole doing RP. Particularly during the open:

12891081_1074004839323407_5911154068242223928_o

But right now I’m pretty fluffy and kinda worried about it. Let’s say I can diet diligently for the next three weeks and lose about 1 lbs per week. That still means I am still 3-5lbs away from where I need to be on June 11th.

I’m hoping that my scale is a jerk…I actually was a good 4 lbs heavier than the scale I weighed in on for strongman, but then it’s also pretty spot-on with the InBody scale and most other cheap household scales that I’ve stepped on. I’m hoping to hit the actual competition scale on Monday to see what it thinks. Then I can go home and immediately get on my scale and compare notes.

I’m hoping that a little low sodium diet and some dehydration will be enough. Yuck. You never know. Ewwwwww. Man, I loathe weigh-ins for sports. I see why they are necessary, but gosh. Add another weight class for people like me who are just naturally heavy with normal levels of body fat.

As for now, I’m just trying to figure out ways to fight hunger. Gum, sugar free soda, caffeine, water, pressure points, sugar free jello, trying to stay busy. Nothing is really working that well. I am the worst dieter in the universe.

katniss

Maybe oly weightlifting just isn’t for me. At least not this year while I’m hovering above where I’d need to be.

Leave a Reply

