17.2

Here it is!

Complete as many rounds and reps as possible in 12 minutes of:
2 rounds of:
50-ft. weighted walking lunge
16 toes-to-bars
8 power cleans
Then, 2 rounds of:
50-ft. weighted walking lunge
16 bar muscle-ups
8 power cleans
Etc., alternating between toes-to-bars and bar muscle-ups every 2 rounds.

I attempted on Friday night. I found it to be surprisingly cardio-tastic. I ripped my hands all to hell doing the bar muscle ups somewhere towards the end of my second round of them.

I don’t have any photos of this wod. Especially since I was only able to make one attempt. But this was taken the day after I attempted.

I got 128 reps, which means I finished the bar muscle ups and didn’t make it back to the dumbbells. Which is a little better than I did in last week’s WOD, but still nothing to be proud of. I am super sad. I invest too much emotionally into the open. I want to just give up. Or change my priorities and take “going to regionals on a team” off of my list of goals.

My hands healed up enough by Monday night that I considered making another attempt, but I ended up having a fever of 101.5. WHY DO I KEEP GETTING SICK?!?! Still have the fever today… I only have one sick day left so I’m toughing it out at work.

I felt SO good a few weeks before the open began. PR’ing my clean at 235lbs. Doing sets of 4 unbroken muscle ups. I felt so strong, but now I feel so weak. Not sure how to deal with this deflated feeling. I think even if a “big person” workout comes out in the open, now my head isn’t right so I  won’t be able to do my best at it. Crossfit is supposed to be a fun hobby to help me stay fit, but this open is just making me feel bad.

It might be time to try a new fitness venture. Mountain biking? Rock climbing? Maybe start running again? Yoga? Before I started crossfit, I contemplated attempting a triathlon.

3 thoughts on “17.2

  1. kaitlynk March 7, 2017 / 1:36 pm

    Hey! Don’t be hard on yourself – 17.2 is only workout, and the Open doensn’t define what kind of athlete you are. Clearly your body is fighting a bug right now and is feeling a little drained. Despite that, you still managed a great score!

    • fabulousinfayetteville March 7, 2017 / 1:52 pm

      Aw thanks! I’m just really frustrated and sad to see how far down the leaderboard I am compared to every other open I’ve ever completed. It’s disheartening to see myself not succeed at something I dedicate so much time to.

      • kaitlynk March 7, 2017 / 2:06 pm

        Well I’m still super impressed by your efforts so far!
        Who knows what the next few weeks will bring us…

Leave a Reply

