17.3 The Heavy One

Are you ready? Put your thinking cap on!

Prior to 8:00, complete:
3 rounds of:
6 chest-to-bar pull-ups
6 squat snatches, 95/65 lb.
Then, 3 rounds of:
7 chest-to-bar pull-ups
5 squat snatches, 135/95 lb.
*Prior to 12:00, complete 3 rounds of:
8 chest-to-bar pull-ups
4 squat snatches, 185/135 lb.
*Prior to 16:00, complete 3 rounds of:
9 chest-to-bar pull-ups
3 squat snatches, 225/155 lb.
*Prior to 20:00, complete 3 rounds of:
10 chest-to-bar pull-ups
2 squat snatches, 245/175 lb.
Prior to 24:00, complete 3 rounds of:
11 chest-to-bar pull-ups
1 squat snatch 265/185 lb.

*If all reps are completed, time cap extends by 4 minutes.

 

My immediate thought was “can I even make it past the first 8 minutes?! This is confusing as hell!”

Then my second thought was:

Bwahahaha. I love squat snatches, but I don’t prefer to mix them with chest-to-bar pull ups. So…. oh well. Yeah.

So I was able to do this one twice. My first attempt was Friday and I was sooooo nervous! I ended up going unbroken on the chest-to-bars and was completely gassed. It made it to where I had a pretty difficult time through the 95lb snatches.

Who knows which bar this even is.

Anywho. I made it into the 135’s and they were feeling terrible. I felt like my legs were to jellylike to stand the reps up. I even failed one.

I got cut off by time at the 16:00 mark in the middle of my last set of pullups for that round so my score was 100 reps.

When I redid it last night (Monday), I decided to take the advice of The Outlaw Way and try single chest-to-bar pull ups. “Disciplined singles” where you keep your feet in one place and breathe in between the reps. I make a HUGE conscious effort to breathe.

My first split was quite a bit slower, but my second split was actually faster through the 95’s so A+ to me for MUCH better pacing strategy!

A ton of athletes were going all at the same time because it was the last heat that could get it done and scores submitted before 7:00.  So I ended up having to set my snatch up quite a ways from the rig. That was disappointing.

I was pretty happy when I realised I was getting more reps than my first attempt, but I was really nervous when I approached my last 4 snatches at 135 and only had less than a minute before I would get time capped at 12 minutes.

 OMG YALL. My split time was 11:59!!!!

So once I bought those extra 4 minutes I decided to stand there and catch my breath for a while. And then I went and kinda slowly did my 9 pull ups. And then I put on my weight belt and drank water and got chalk and had a some tea and crumpets and went on a few walks.

LOL but seriously. Then I went to snatch 155. And I caught it. And sat there trying to balance it and my stupid right knee hit the ground. I thought of the standards video and how it said if any body part touches the ground, then the rep is a no-rep… so I sadly dropped it. And went and had another tea party.

Then I pulled it again…. AND GOT IT!

I look really confident, don’t I? And that knee sleeve technique is an interesting one. And I don’t even know if I actually made this lift, because I did another pull that looked like this too, and then I couldn’t stabilize it. I was TUCKERED. But I did give that 155 bar three whole-hearted attempts. I have some things I need to work on.

So I guess this week kinda lifted my spirits a bit more. I finally got rid of my fever (at least by the time I completed this attempt), so I finally got a fair shot at an open wod. Our team moved up to 27th place in the region, and since last year we moved up about 8 spots after they took of the individual scores and the disqualified athletes’ scores, we could potentially have a shot. You never know!

I’m glad I finally was able to contribute, though. And here’s to hoping I can do it again a couple more times.

And I’m SUPER hoping for a repeat of 16.4!!!

And then after this open I’m going to do something else besides crossfit for the next few months because I am burnt out.

Three down, two to go!

Leave a Reply

