17.5 – The thrusters have arrived!

I’m writing this now that the open is over YAY ITS OVER!

10 rounds for time of:
9 thrusters, 95/65 lb.
35 double-unders

 

Unlike the other workouts, this one was super simple. It was definitely the type of workout that I would lose count in the middle of and be like “wait what round am I even on?” lol! So thankfully the judges with their scorecards were the best at keeping track of all of that. Which was good!

Friday night! 3-2-1 GO!

This one was interesting… I was afraid of pushing too hard because I didn’t want to redline myself into a place where I wouldn’t be able to breathe and keep a decent pace going. Ten rounds is a lot! 90 thrusters, yo. And 350 dubs.

10:14 was my time.

Better than I thought I was going to do! I hate couplets, but I much prefer double unders being paired with thrusters rather than rowing or burpees like in the past.

After round 7 on Friday, my back was really tight and not moving so well. So for my second attempt on Monday night I wore my weight belt:


Ended up being a great choice! I was able to breathe with it on, and my back felt much more… uh… sturdy? The thrusters felt so much better! And my time was 9:43 which is actually quite a bit faster. 30 seconds is a lot of time!

I don’t know what’s going on in this picture. But at least I’m HAPPY!

Now that I think about it, I was either stretching or saying hello to Beefy. 😛

I really want to learn to like crossfit again. It’s so hard not to get burned out with it. Especially after the open making me feel like a crappy athlete.

I still ended up being top 12 in Arkansas, though, which was a nice surprise. I didn’t think I could come back after being so sick during the first few weeks. Part of me wants to redo that first workout and see how much faster I can be. But then I’m like “75 box over burpees voluntarily? Nah.”

It’s so hard to be mentally strong during the open. I feel like I’ve had a big, ugly raincloud over my head for five weeks and it’s finally parted and the sun has come out! Except that the actual sun is nowhere to be seen… April showers.

Leave a Reply

